16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of the best lasagna recipes I've ever made. It is outstanding. My oldest son had two servings for dinner last night. I can't wait to have the leftovers another day this week. The sauce is delicious and it has the perfect amount of meat and cheese. You can't go wrong with this lasagna. Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 March 17, 2008

We just loved this lasagna! It is much simpler and less time intensive than my normal lasagna recipe. It makes an amount that is easily used, by eating, freezing or sharing. And the piece that I enjoyed was the perfect size, not too big or too little. I did use homemade tomato sauce, that I froze over the summer, in place of the whole tomatoes and paste. The seasoning is right on too! Thanks so much for sharing a winner, Lavender Lynn. It was perfect for us and we surely enjoyed it on a cold, wintery day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl January 23, 2012

Great! I used half riccotta and 1/2 cottage cheese and added some oregano and basil. This was hardy and filling and enjoyed by guests last evening. Made for ZWT7, Shady Ladies. Thanks for a real keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby June 04, 2011

I thought this was delicious, and I would make it again. I used both ricotta and cottage cheese, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. The only thing I would do differently when I make this again is double the cheeses (it was a little scant for two layers) and add mozzarella on the top before baking. But definitely a recipe worth keeping. Thanks, Lavender Lynn. Made for ZWT7, Mischief Makers team.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 01, 2011

Excellent lasagne, one that pleased my whole family - picky eaters all! Made as directed. Thanks, Lavender Lynn! Made for Aussie New Zealand Recipe Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees March 23, 2010

Delicious and easy. Substituted chicken for beef and added about 8 cloves of garlic and 2T crushed red pepper - also put oven on broil for last few minutes. Picky husband loved this recipe and so did I. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Le Poonce January 31, 2010

I have never made lasagne before and it was my very first time. It turned out just amazing.my husband loved it, and i even took some to work and shared it with my colleague who loved it too. Thank you for this recipe. i recommend it 100%. PS: i would just add mozzarelle as the final layer as it melts more nicely than parmesan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rabiamashkoor December 04, 2009

Very Good! I added Peter J's Italian Herb Mix to it and our guests were smitten. I did add several finely chopped carrots and use extra meat because we had some male guests with large appitites and they like their lasagne meaty and solid. I used ricotta cheese and cottage cheese and topped it with the parmesan... and used spinach lasagne noodles. Please see my Rating System: 4 wonderful stars for a filling and tasty recipe for a crowd that made very very certain that no one could possibly leave the table with rumbling stomaches. Made for Zaar World Tour 2008. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 03, 2008

Very similar to my own "to die for" lasagna recipe, and we loved this one just as much (I better not play favorites or someone will be jealous!--like me!!). I used cottage cheese (briefly pulsed in the blender--to make it creamy). Very meaty recipe--definitely a KEEPER!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber February 18, 2008

LOVED IT! Lynn, this lasagna is wonderful, I will definitely be making it again. I used Ricotta cheese, cut the salf in half, and used mild italian sausage rather than ground beef. Delicious! Thank you Lynn. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag game, please see my rating system.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup February 03, 2008
Baked Lasagne