Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Baked Ziti With Fire Roasted Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Ziti With Fire Roasted Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2009

      This was a nice change from my usual Italian dishes. My husband and I really enjoyed the addition of the zucchini...the kids, not so much. ;) The only change I made was to use a full pound of ground beef and dried oregano. Next time, I plan on using only 8 oz. of tomato sauce and not drain the tomatoes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This was really good! I made exactly as directed, including the Muir Glen brand tomatoes, but subbed a green pepper for the zucchini. I really loved the smokey taste of the tomatoes and it made the dish have that something extra. I can see making a ton of this in the crock and freezing it for quick dinners! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      This is a great recipe. My best friend and my wonderful boyfriend love it too. Instead of regular mozzarella I used smoked mozzarella. I also added a little basil to the tomato sauce for a little more flavor. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      Very good. I only used 8 oz of tomato sauce as others suggested but followed the recipe as shown. Next time I will use Italian Sausage. That would add a lot of extra flavor. The only other differences were that I added a bunch of mushrooms and could not find smoked cheese so I added a dash, about 1/4 teas. of smoke flavor to the meat sauce. The smoke flavoring was an exciting addition. Definitely not a normal pasta casserole!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Very good! We used shells and added green pepper, basil, and crushed red pepper. We will make this again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This was perfect comfort food! Couldn't find roasted diced tomatoes here so used regular diced tomatoes (and did add the juice) but added some Tabasco to kick it up a notch! Thanks FloridaGrl! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      Although I took some liberties with this recipe, I am still going to review it. I used a lb of crumbled Italian sausage instead of the ground beef, substituted basil for the oregano and used no zucchini. I also only used 8 oz of tomato sauce because of other reviews stating 15 oz was overpowering. I have to say this was absolutely wonderful!!!! I will surely make this again. Thank you so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      We really like this a lot. It was tasty, quick and easy. Everyone went back for seconds. I did feel that the tomato sauce covered up the majority of the fire roasted flavor. Next time, I will just use more fire roasted tomatoes and less tomato sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      I've had this recipe for some time and was glad to find it posted here on Zaar so I could finally get around to making it!:)Wonderful quick meal that's low in fat and pretty healthy. Muir Glen makes the best tomatoes, and their fire roasted products are fantastic. Simple recipe to fix but full of flavor. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      Wonderful! The fire roasted tomatoes were a delicious addition- regular would be great too but the difference really comes through here in this simple dish. Loved the zuchinni in here- dh and dd ate it with no complaint- ya! As hard as I tried to ruin this dish-with help from telemarketers, surprise guests and insanely crazy dogs, it still came out beautifully. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Very nice casserole. Easy to fix and has everything in it, just needs some bread to complete the meal. I had to sprinkle a little parmesan cheese on top of the mozzarella-the devil made me do it. Other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks for a healthy flavorful dish. Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2014

      Great dish. Really different from many traditional ones but interesting. The guide is obviously well written as i achieved almost the same final result as the one on the picture. Thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      This was ok, for some reason I thought since it had fire roasted tomatoes that it was going to be a little spicy but it wasn't which was what I was looking for. The zucchini was nice in the dish however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      This was delicious. I made it with Cavatappi. It is now in our meal rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      I loved this. The directions worked out perfectly. I wouldn't chage the amounts on anything. I thought that 1/2 pound of ground beef wouldn't be enough, but it was! I especially loved the addition of zucchini (I chopped mine) because I'm still trying to use up my supply from the garden. I'm glad there will be leftovers for tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2013

      Pretty good - I will use less oregano next time (I used dried instead of fresh and I didnt cut back enough). Otherwise very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      I enjoyed this recipe, and liked it more when I had it for lunch the next day. Which makes me think I should have let it sit more before eating it after pulling it from the oven the night I made it. I used Italian sausage instead of ground beef which I think was a good choice. I will definitely make this again when I'm feeling the mood for some solid baked ziti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2012

      Excellent! really good stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Excellent! I didn't have any tomato sauce so I tripled the canned tomatoes, used 1 lb of ground beef, increased the garlic to 6 cloves and followed the rest as stated. REALLY great! I make many ziti's and this one is really great in comparison despite how low fat it is! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Ziti With Fire Roasted Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (277 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.7
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    10%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 23.4 mg
    7%
    Sodium 505.8 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat mozzarella cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes