21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a nice change from my usual Italian dishes. My husband and I really enjoyed the addition of the zucchini...the kids, not so much. ;) The only change I made was to use a full pound of ground beef and dried oregano. Next time, I plan on using only 8 oz. of tomato sauce and not drain the tomatoes. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) April 23, 2009

This was really good! I made exactly as directed, including the Muir Glen brand tomatoes, but subbed a green pepper for the zucchini. I really loved the smokey taste of the tomatoes and it made the dish have that something extra. I can see making a ton of this in the crock and freezing it for quick dinners! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShanH July 30, 2007

This is a great recipe. My best friend and my wonderful boyfriend love it too. Instead of regular mozzarella I used smoked mozzarella. I also added a little basil to the tomato sauce for a little more flavor. This is a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvleysmile February 11, 2006

Very good. I only used 8 oz of tomato sauce as others suggested but followed the recipe as shown. Next time I will use Italian Sausage. That would add a lot of extra flavor. The only other differences were that I added a bunch of mushrooms and could not find smoked cheese so I added a dash, about 1/4 teas. of smoke flavor to the meat sauce. The smoke flavoring was an exciting addition. Definitely not a normal pasta casserole!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtfsh October 07, 2013

Very good! We used shells and added green pepper, basil, and crushed red pepper. We will make this again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbera007 February 14, 2010

This was perfect comfort food! Couldn't find roasted diced tomatoes here so used regular diced tomatoes (and did add the juice) but added some Tabasco to kick it up a notch! Thanks FloridaGrl! ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie June 02, 2009

Although I took some liberties with this recipe, I am still going to review it. I used a lb of crumbled Italian sausage instead of the ground beef, substituted basil for the oregano and used no zucchini. I also only used 8 oz of tomato sauce because of other reviews stating 15 oz was overpowering. I have to say this was absolutely wonderful!!!! I will surely make this again. Thank you so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie April 25, 2009

We really like this a lot. It was tasty, quick and easy. Everyone went back for seconds. I did feel that the tomato sauce covered up the majority of the fire roasted flavor. Next time, I will just use more fire roasted tomatoes and less tomato sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP November 21, 2008

I've had this recipe for some time and was glad to find it posted here on Zaar so I could finally get around to making it!:)Wonderful quick meal that's low in fat and pretty healthy. Muir Glen makes the best tomatoes, and their fire roasted products are fantastic. Simple recipe to fix but full of flavor. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 25, 2007

Wonderful! The fire roasted tomatoes were a delicious addition- regular would be great too but the difference really comes through here in this simple dish. Loved the zuchinni in here- dh and dd ate it with no complaint- ya! As hard as I tried to ruin this dish-with help from telemarketers, surprise guests and insanely crazy dogs, it still came out beautifully. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) May 02, 2006
Baked Ziti With Fire Roasted Tomatoes