22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is really a great glaze, and the oranges and glaze with vanilla ice cream were fantastic. No problems making this at all simply let it come to a gentle boil, then took it off the heat. Probably could have boiled it a bit more, but sure didn't want it too thick. Thank You so much for a great recipe

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chabear01 July 11, 2006

I picked up a bag of Blood Oranges and a bag of Pink Grapefruit from Trader Joe's this earlier this week. The combination with the drizzled Balsamic Glaze is such a treat I keep forgetting it is healthy. I am so hooked on it that I had to rate this recipe and thank you for sharing it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princess.and.the.pea February 22, 2007

A fabulous ZWT2 find! So simple; so delicious! We love citrus flavours so I'll be making this often. I used 3 oranges and one grapefruit. And we thoroughly enjoyed it with a generous dollop of Greek yoghurt. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder July 13, 2006

Super recipe. I must say that I am most-often awed by the simplest of things - this recipe is one of those wonders. Very simple to make, lovely to eat. Made to serve alongside crepes at a World Cup Finals party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 13, 2006

First, cut up the oranges and place on/in your serving dish. Next, combine the balsamic (be sure to use a very good quality balsamic) and brown sugar in a small sauce pan. Bring it to a boil slowly (this took about 5 minutes on my gas cook top on a small burner), turn down the heat and reduce, stirring constantly, until it is 1/2 the original amount (this took about 5 more minutes). Drizzle over the orange slices and ENJOY! Soooooo good and refreshing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DallasMimi January 24, 2014

Well If I'd read all the reviews before making this I would've known to make sure this didn't get too hot/burn... I ended up with a balsamic caramel. It was still very yummy. I served the oranges in martini glasses and drizzled the sauce over them. In an attempt to melt the caramel I put the glasses in the microwave for 20 seconds- which warmed the oranges in a wonderful way but didn't do much for the caramel. Oh well, I'll definately make this again, and watch the temp closer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta July 14, 2009

This recipe is soooooooo good! I made it for the first time today and had 3 helpings. The first time I made the glaze it was too thick and caramelized so I need to practice getting the right texture. so delicious I love it!! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Schloss Heroldeck May 17, 2009

Very nice! This was my first time of ever using balsamic vinegar as a dessert glaze...I think I should have cooked it a little more -- but I was afraid it would harden up. The flavor mixed with the tartness of the oranges was OUTSTANDING! Thank you so much for broadening my horizons! I'm making this again right now, at the request of my kids! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacky5 July 13, 2006

Balsamic, sugar and oranges. What can be simplier than this for a dessert. Loved it. I will make it again and again. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia July 11, 2006
Balsamic-Glazed Oranges