Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Balsamic-Glazed Oranges Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Balsamic-Glazed Oranges

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2006

      This is really a great glaze, and the oranges and glaze with vanilla ice cream were fantastic. No problems making this at all simply let it come to a gentle boil, then took it off the heat. Probably could have boiled it a bit more, but sure didn't want it too thick. Thank You so much for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      I picked up a bag of Blood Oranges and a bag of Pink Grapefruit from Trader Joe's this earlier this week. The combination with the drizzled Balsamic Glaze is such a treat I keep forgetting it is healthy. I am so hooked on it that I had to rate this recipe and thank you for sharing it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      A fabulous ZWT2 find! So simple; so delicious! We love citrus flavours so I'll be making this often. I used 3 oranges and one grapefruit. And we thoroughly enjoyed it with a generous dollop of Greek yoghurt. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      Super recipe. I must say that I am most-often awed by the simplest of things - this recipe is one of those wonders. Very simple to make, lovely to eat. Made to serve alongside crepes at a World Cup Finals party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      First, cut up the oranges and place on/in your serving dish. Next, combine the balsamic (be sure to use a very good quality balsamic) and brown sugar in a small sauce pan. Bring it to a boil slowly (this took about 5 minutes on my gas cook top on a small burner), turn down the heat and reduce, stirring constantly, until it is 1/2 the original amount (this took about 5 more minutes). Drizzle over the orange slices and ENJOY! Soooooo good and refreshing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

    • on July 14, 2009

      Well If I'd read all the reviews before making this I would've known to make sure this didn't get too hot/burn... I ended up with a balsamic caramel. It was still very yummy. I served the oranges in martini glasses and drizzled the sauce over them. In an attempt to melt the caramel I put the glasses in the microwave for 20 seconds- which warmed the oranges in a wonderful way but didn't do much for the caramel. Oh well, I'll definately make this again, and watch the temp closer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      This recipe is soooooooo good! I made it for the first time today and had 3 helpings. The first time I made the glaze it was too thick and caramelized so I need to practice getting the right texture. so delicious I love it!! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      Very nice! This was my first time of ever using balsamic vinegar as a dessert glaze...I think I should have cooked it a little more -- but I was afraid it would harden up. The flavor mixed with the tartness of the oranges was OUTSTANDING! Thank you so much for broadening my horizons! I'm making this again right now, at the request of my kids! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      Balsamic, sugar and oranges. What can be simplier than this for a dessert. Loved it. I will make it again and again. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      I too had Saturn's problem. However, I didn't cook it on high just until it slow boiled and it reduced to about 1/3 cup. when I poured it over the orange slices, it harded like a chewy candy. I don't know what I did wrong. the flavor of the sauce was great, but it just didn't combine well when added to the oranges. I'll try to figure out what I did wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2006

      Okay, here is what NOT to do. Don't cook too long on really high heat. No matter how much you stir, it will suddenly start to burn. Then it is no longer a glaze, it is candy. Although you won't know that at the time. Then, don't pour it over a bowl of canned mandarin orange segments. It will not adhere to the segments. But the stuff that stays on top will turn into a crusty yet chewy candy. The flavour was great. It was a little tough on the teeth, but worth it! I will try this again. And I will remember what NOT to do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      I only just discovered that we have Crema di Balsamico, which is very thick to start off with. It was written in italian so I didn't notice at first. You can imagine how thick it got again after cooking, I could bearly spoon it, it was really sticky.Next time I make this recipe it will be with regular balsamico LOL. The taste was good, but the texture was a little bit less due to my toffee like qualities of the sauce... but my fault entirely ! Please see my rating system, a lovely 4 stars :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Oh goodness...this was so good!! A serious 5 stars, yummy and less than 10 minutes to make...you gotta love that! Thanks for an awesome recipe Toni!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      Yum! We went to an Italian-themed potluck tonight. I took this for dessert. I laid out 5 orange slices on each plate and drizzled some of the glaze on top. I put a scoop of vanilla bean on top of that. A little more drizle and a sprig of mint. It looked beautiful and tasted yummy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      This is not only delicious but it's simple and doesn't require heaps of expensive ingredients. The flavours compliment each other fabulously!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      Oooh lala this is sooo goooood!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      Good. But it was really hard for me to prepare the oranges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      These are so good and so easy!!! I added pink grapefruit like RitaL suggested....but I had them for dessert! This is a total keeper!!! Wonderful! Thanks toni!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Balsamic-Glazed Oranges

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    26%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 25.4 g
    101%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes