Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Braised Lamb Shanks With Fresh Rosemary Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Braised Lamb Shanks With Fresh Rosemary

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on February 17, 2009

      This is restaurant quality...just incredible. I'll admit I had never cooked lamb shanks before, only chops, etc. and this was out of this world. Have made this several times now, always to rave reviews. Braising is such a great cooking method and yields very tender, flavorful results. Lamb lovers out there...you've got to try this one! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2012

    • on January 15, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I made this as directed, except for a longer cooking time while waiting for our company to arrive. The meat was tasty and was so soft it fell off the bone. I suspect the choice of wine would have an impact on the taste of this dish, even with the quantity of broth used. Haven't yet tried this with anything but Shiraz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Rarely do I go to this much trouble for a meal. However, a friend from church loves lamb and I wanted to do something special as a way of saying thanks for all she has done for me. This was also my first attempt at cooking lamb shanks. I ordered 4 lamb shanks from a local butcher shop and probably should have drained the can of diced tomatoes as this made alot more liquid than I needed. I served it with smashed yukon gold potatoes, a green salad and fresh rolls. I even sent home one of the uneaten shanks for her to enjoy. Thanks Leslie, for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Sooo Goood! It was my first attempt at lamb shanks. Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe to the letter (except of substituting dry thyme for the fresh one). Thanks, Leslie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Absolutely wonderful! First time I have made lamb shanks and it was easier than I anticipated. Cooking times were perfect for the shanks and the gravy. I just wanted to keep eating this. I used a leek instead of onion (I don't like onions), and it was delicious! Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      My husband loves lamb shanks, but I've never cooked them myself. This recipe was easy to follow and the results were fabulous! Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      We had this for Easter 2010 and it was enjoyed by all. My wife pulled the meat off the shanks and got rid of the fat. It was so tender it almost melted in your mouth. My springer spaniel jody loved a bone or two. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Truly amazing! We made it for a larger company, and everyone loved it, all talking ceased and everyone just dug in. We served it with youghurt flavored with lemon and fresh mint leaves, which worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      Made this last night and it was easy and very good. First time I've done lamb and was surprised at how good this was, the aroma while cooking says it all. I served it over steamed white rice, with hot dinner rolls and was a big success. Will definatly keep this and do again. Thanks Leslie for a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      So glad I chose this recipe for some lamb shanks that had been hanging out in the freezer long enough. Pretty much followed directions...didn't use quite the whole bottle of wine and used a combination of fresh and dried herbs. Toward the end of cooking, I put the lamb shanks in a low oven while I increased the heat and reduced the sauce. Great taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      We love lamb shank at our house. This recipe lived up to our expectations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      This was wonderful as promised. I found this recipe today though on allrecipes.com the only difference being the amount of fresh herbs. Where Leslie asked for 2 tablespoons of thyme, and 5 tablespoons of rosemary, the other version asked for 2 and 5 teaspoons. I choose to follow those amounts as 7 (in total) tablespoons of herbs seemed a bit much. Fantastic though thank you-the best lamb shanks I have eaten in ages. [Editor's Note: recipe was updated as a result of these comments 4/8/03]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      My kitchen smelled wonderful while this was cooking. I followed the good directions exactly, except I cut it in half since there were only 4 of us. I loved the rich sauce which we spooned on our meat and the mashed potatoes. However, it was the first time I ever made lamb shanks and I didn't care for them that much...too fatty I think. I'll bet this same recipe would work for quite a few cuts of beef with good success. The recipe was good, I just don't care for that type of lamb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Braised Lamb Shanks With Fresh Rosemary

    Serving Size: 1 (559 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 827.0
     
    Calories from Fat 350
    42%
    Total Fat 38.9 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 242.1 mg
    80%
    Sodium 671.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 75.4 g
    150%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes