18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I also made my own chicken (sliced each breast half horizontally so I had two big pieces then soaked in one egg, 1/2 cup plain yogurt, a splash of milk to thin it out, salt, pepper, and italian seasoning for a few hours then shook off and dredged in toasted bread crumbs). I baked my breaded breasts in the oven on a baking rack placed over a pan for 25 minutes or so so that they'd stay crispy, but I'd avoid burning any bread crumbs. I finished as suggested and they were lovely. So easy and yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SandwichQueen September 24, 2010

Made for Aus/NZ Swap 51. This was the perfect meal to create just before the holidays. SO simple and yet tastes delicious. Everything done in less than 1 hour and on the table. Like I said perfect before a holiday when all the other holiday cooking and baking is happening. Like other reviewers stated, you can't get any easier than this for a home cooked in the oven meal. I used fresh chicken breasts that I cut in half to thin out as they were over 1 1/2 inches thick. Used sauce made fresh then frozen from the summer harvest and topped it with freshly grated mozzerella cheese. Served over penne pasta with a baguette. Dh and I ate by the fire as it was snowing here so again perfect for a comfort meal. I usually use my crockpot for chicken cacciotre but then that is a planned meal so this one is just perfect for the quick meal. I will keep this in my go to cookbook for many more meals to come especially those crazy days when it is a run run day. This is also a great stand by for when unexpected company comes and you need something fast and simple yet delightful. I always keep boneless chicken breasts and sauce handy, so a quick thaw and pop into the oven they go, dinner on the table in a flash. Thank you for this recipe which is a definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie April 22, 2011

Loved, Loved and Loved!!! This is sooooo simple with exceptional results my hubby and my son MMmmmmm'd their way through this. It tastes like you have spent ages making it but by cheating with the already prepared chicken and the jar of pasta sauce it takes no time at all. I topped ours with shaved parmesan cheese as that is what I had on hand which was really yummy, but next time I think I will do a mix of cheeses including some gruyere Yum. A real winner and one that I will definitely be making again it tastes fabulous, is quick and easy to make and is very budget friendly as well. I served ours on top of pasta with a side salad and garlic bread for a delicious meal. Thanks for sharing Chef floWer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef October 15, 2010

I don't think I've ever seen schnitzels in the store, but that didn't stop me! I made my own, quickly, by slicing a huge breast in half, dredging in a milk/egg wash and dunking in Italian breadcrumbs, to which I had added some fresh grated parmesan cheese. After browning on both sides in a skillet, in a mix of olive oil and butter, I covered in my fave pasta sauce and a mixture of Mozzarella and parmesan, then baked in the oven for 35 minutes. I used penne pasta, as that is what I had on hand; this dish is yummy and easy, and was still on the table in an hour! Great and filling, I'm gonna put this in my go-to file. And next time, I'll make extra, so I have some leftovers! Thanks, Chef floWer, for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl December 07, 2009

Perfect for a quick weeknight meal! I used Provel cheese on this and it turned out perfect! Thanks so much for posting!! Made for 12 Days of Christmas recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl December 03, 2008

Very simple and oh so quick to make. I used chicken breast, Healthy Choice pasta sauce and Parmesan cheese. I had to omit the parsley as I didn't have any. It's a winner! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama September 03, 2008

This was very good. I didn't quite cheat because I made my own Snitzels, but is was very good. I had to cook them on top of the stove because I was cooking other things in the oven. It made a wonderful Italian meal and very good left overs! Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York June 16, 2008

I dont think this is "cheating" I have done mine this way for years :) It does look like a lot of work, and presents really well. I use a mixture of oil and butter to brown the snitzels, and then let them finish cooking in the oven. Excellent recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills June 16, 2008

My DD loves chicken parm so I made this for her. I used a jar of four cheese spaghetti sauce and made sure all of the chicken was covered. Italian blend cheese was used and dried parsley before placing in the oven. I did let it go for the 30 minutes to get nice and bubbly. Served with linquine and garlic bread. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 05, 2008

I love chicken parmigiana, and this recipe was a real pleaser. It was easy to make and tasted great. I used homemade spaghetti sauce which I always have on hand in the freezer. This one is going straight into my keeper file. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 31, 2008
Chef Flower's Cheat Chicken Parmigiana