Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Eggplant (Aubergine) Caponata Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Caponata

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2002

      Great recipe. I might shorten the cooking time a bit, especially if using the slow simmer approach. I might also decrease the vinegar just a bit. However, this is a one pot, no bowls, easily prepared recipe which is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      Great recipe, and soooo easy to make! I strongly advise to use only 1 tbs of sugar. You can always add more towards the end of cooking... I also replace half the vinegar with red wine. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2005

      A great vegetarian/vegan dish, but everyone loved it. I used brown sugar and kalamata olives instead of green.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This is a wonderful caponata recipe. I made it for a party last night and had many compliments (and three requests for the recipe!) I used half the bell pepper (just my preference), and a little less red wine vinegar, and it came out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Very good dip although I too will decrease the vinegar a bit next time. Also will decrease the bell pepper and maybe increase the tomatoes--just personal taste. Very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      After tasting this at my mom's (cucina casalingo) I came home and made it for myself. It's soooo good, I ate mine on pita crisps. Froze half of it for later too since I had so many eggplants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Was looking for a way to use up all the eggplants that we got from a CSA farm. This was so easy and delicious! I will be serving this as an appetizer during holidays. After the dish was finished cooking, I let it cool down a bit and then gave it a light chop in the food processor. It is wonderful on la panzanilla black pepper croccantini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      The adults in the house loved it...the kids, not so much. I slow simmered, then put in the fridge for 2 days. It was so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2005

      This is a wonderful recipe. My family is from Sicily, and there is a different caponata recipe for about every family. It is a sweet and sour eggplant, so it is suppose to be sweet. Try is with any pasta or potlenta plain or baked. Also makes a nice snack the next day with a slice of bread. Don't forget the vino!! I used red wine instead of the vinegar, and lots of fresh ground black pepper and red pepper flakes. Thanks for posting!! This is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      I dearly love eggplant. This recipe, however, was a bit too sweet. I think the next time I make it, I will eliminate the sugar. It was certainly easy to make...I like the idea of putting all in one pot at one time. It wasn't necessary to stew it for an entire hour though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      Amazing! I used Sherry vinager...maybe this cut down on the vinegar taste. I loved the smell of it as I too cooked it in the slow cooker. It was a very tasty meal that we had with rice and chicken. I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      yummy recipe and filled the kitchen with a yummy odour. I ran mine thru a blender after cooking and used as a topping on some whole wheat pasta. superb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      Amazingly easy to put together. Started this dish late last night and had finish it in a crock-pot (on low heat) 'cause it was getting too late. But when i woke this morning the kitchen smelled awesome! And the dish taste excellent too. I'm off to find croistini bread, whatever that is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Great recipe, Secret. I might also decrease the vinegar next time, and this time I didn't include capers or olives because I'm out of both. Also didn't have green peppers. I just ate some of this in a toasted pita and will be brining it for lunch to eat in a pita tomorrow. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      This is really delicious and easy to make. My husband doesn't like green olives so I substituted 1/4 cup chopped Kalmata olives. I made it in a wok and my cooking time was just 30 minutes. It also makes a great veggie burrito, rolled up in a flour tortilla. I sometimes have ladies over for lunch after church and several of them are vegetarians, so this simplifies what to serve. We buy Red Chile Tortillas at Whole Foods Market in Albuquerque, NM so the "burritos" are very attractive as well as tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      I rated this high because all other caponata recipes too vinegary. Slow cooking the way to go. I used Hungarian Hot peppers from the garden instead of cayenne. Easy,and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Caponata

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.7
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    60%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 615.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 13.3 g
    53%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes