Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Favorite Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Favorite Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2003

      As most ‘zaar “old-timers” are aware, I have to keep my salt intake to an absolute minimum and so I was forced to make a couple of minor substitutions – I used ½ lb. ground beef, ½ lb. Italian sausage and ½ lb. chorizo sausage; I used sodium-free canned tomatoes and added my own Italian spices and; I skipped the tablespoon of salt (none of the diners seemed to notice the absence). Also, I used MeanChef’s Theory Of Garlic Calculation (“if the recipe calls for 2 cloves of garlic, use 5 or 6”). The recipe’s only minor shortcoming is that it required closer to a full pound of mozzarella and a little over a full cup of grated parmesan (well, ok, I admit that the parmesan thing is simply due to the fact that I love to go hog-wild with the stuff). The recipe’s crowning glory was the fact that one dinner guest remarked, “I can see the ricotta cheese and I cannot believe that I am going back for seconds, because I hate ricotta!” Thank you so much for a superb lasagna, Kathy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      What a great classic lasagna! My whole family loved it! I only made a few changes to your recipe. I only had 1/2 lb. Italian sausage on hand, so I increased the ground beef to 1 lb.. Also, I did not add water to the sauce, because I was running out of time and didn't want to wait for it to cook down. The taste was still incredible, although I only let it simmer for about 45 minutes. I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I too have been making this lasagna for 20 years from the same cookbook. My family won't eat any other. Over the years I have learned to modify for organic, vegetarian or shortcuts. One shortcut I use is high quality jar sauce. I will also spice up my sausage some with additional fennel seed and crushed red pepper. I always prep the lasagna a day ahead and bake it the next day. Sets up like a picture and makes a very easy meal for entertaining.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Looks like this one hasn't been made in awhile, but that didn't stop me! With the awesome reviews I made it knowing it was going to be great! I used mild Italian sausage this time, but might venture out next time and get some hot. I used cottage cheese instead of the ricotta as my DS doesn't like it much. I just mixed an egg in with it and blended it together and poured it on the noodle layer. When it was cooked and set for about 15 minutes it was firm just like mozzarella and it was really good! DS had only good things to say, and it's a good thing HA! My other half said it was excellent, as she had a mouthful, so this is a 5 star all the way from us! Tony

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2014

      Hello Kathy,<br/><br/>Yes, this is a great recipe, I still have the original page from McCalls, albeit, a bit worn and sauce stained. I write because you omitted two essential ingredients of that recipe. In the sauce, it additionally requires:<br/>1/2 teaspoon fennel seed and 1 tablespoon oregano. It will improve the flavor quite a bit. <br/>ciao.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      Terrific lasagna Kathy. Really enjoyed the flavor and texture of the sauce, so flavorful. I did make one change to your recipe, I didn't have any ground beef so I used 2 lbs of hot Italian sausage instead. It worked great in this dish. Definitely worth the extra effort. This lasagna does not disappoint. Rich, filling, full of flavor and cheese, what more could you want. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe. Made for Pac Spring Safari 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      I still have the original recipe that appeared in the Mccalls magazine dated 1972. I have passed out this recipe to many friends and family members. If you follow the recipe to the T, it is foolproof!!!!! I wouldn't use any other lasagne recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      I ws looking thru my Cookbook and discovered that I have made this recipe 3 times now and have never given a review! So sorry, but I will make up for that now.....5+!! This recipe made one if not the best lasagna's I have tasted! I used a can of Italian style crushed tomatoes and they worked wonderfully as well as adding a little more garlic (my preference) to the sauce. Sliced great and tasted even better than I could have hoped for. I have given this to my sister and her husband and now he won't eat any other lasgna. Great recipe, and again, sorry for the much delayed review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      This is the first lasagna I have ever made. I wanted to make one for my BF because it is his favorite food, and everyone loved it so much! I used a little more sausage and a little less beef, I took Miller's advice on the extra cheese, and I cut out the salt and sugar. I also didn't have enough tomato paste so I used 1/2 tomato sauce and omitted most of the water. I don't know how big of a sin that is but no one seemed to notice. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      My wifey said it was the best lasgna she has ever had. That's enough recommondation for me. I used a bit more italian sausage and a bit less ground beef but other than that kept to the recipe. Thanks for sharing, I will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      This was the first time that I had ever made lasagna and my wife said that it was the best that she had ever eaten. Thank-you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      This was a good recipe. I did the layering in slightly different portions to accomodate a larger baking dish. My only complaint is that it was very salty. In the future I will leave out the tbsp of salt as another reviewer suggested. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2002

      This is great! I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef and cut the italian sausage. It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Favorite Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 730.2
     
    Calories from Fat 365
    50%
    Total Fat 40.6 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 19.3 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 145.0 mg
    48%
    Sodium 2698.0 mg
    112%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    54%
    Protein 43.6 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes