12 Reviews

Perfect combination, liked the stronger provolone cheese in this proportion, and the green onion accented the roasted red pepper and ham. The croutons added textural contrast. We two had no problem polishing off the entire recipe, and looked for more! Thanks for posting this recipe, Boomette. Made for Spring 2009 Pick A Chef.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL April 11, 2009

this was a fabulous lunch! i had to sub gouda as the cheese, but it was delicious. cut the recipe in two and put it in a mini casserole, it puffed up like a souffle

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba November 28, 2008

I am an innkeeper for a B&B in Luray, Virginia and was looking for something to serve family style to go along with a Blueberry Capote that I was serving - this was the perfect addition! The roasted red peppers and provolone caught my eye and it was LOVE! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy P. July 19, 2015

Your pictures look soo delicious. OMG! Your frittata will save me so much time. My husband and the kids love this kind of dish but i had't got the time. The green onion surely will add to the overall taste. I also think to substitute the mustard with dry mustard as @puppitypup suggests. Great recipe, once again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie's Oven July 10, 2014

Boomette, I love your recipes, they're always keepers! This was delicious, even with a few substitutions. I was out of mustard so I used 1/4 t dry mustard, and I used cheddar/jack for the cheese. So easy to make and quite elegant. I halved the recipe (rounded up to 3 on the eggs) and used a 6" pie plate. Thank you for posting! Made for Zaar Stars Tag, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup August 16, 2008

My husband had two servings of this for brunch today...it's safe to say that he really liked it. I definitely enjoyed my piece, too. I had to stop and admire the prettiness of it before digging in. It was such an easy frittata to put together. I used some Caesar salad croutons that I had leftover and because of price I used provolone (although I imagine the fontina is even better). I put mine in an 8-inch glass dish and had to bake it for an extra 10 minutes for it to be set up. Came out of the pan nice and easy though. Thanks Boomie! Made for my Babes for ZWT4. Update: I made this two days later since I had enough ingredients to make it again. Made it for my girlfriends...this time with fontina cheese and an extra egg (S&P). It was a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Witch Steph July 04, 2008

This recipe caught my eye because it sounded great and it is baked in the oven. I used skim milk, seasoned croutons, and pre-packaged diced ham. Also used provolone cheese that I bought sliced so I cut the slices into thin strips. When eggs were set I turned the broiler on high and browned. DH does not care for roasted red peppers but he enjoyed this a lot for breakfast. A easy to make breakfast that tastes wonderful! Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 24, 2008

Delicious! We really loved this quick and easy frittata. The flavors compliment each other perfectly and it is also very pretty to look at. I used a smoked fontina cheese and the half & half. Also, I added a little extra ham, cheese, red peppers, and green onions. I baked this in an 8" square baking dish for 35 minutes and it came out perfect. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe...it is definitely a keeper! *Made for ZWT4*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 12, 2008

Fabulous and versatile meal and quick to prepare - made for ZWT 4 - thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 12, 2008

This a great frittata recipe, we really enjoyed the flavors. I think the croutons really make a difference, we used homemade italian bread ones with some garlic powder. Have added this our family cookbook. Made for the Italian Frittata Challenge ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu June 02, 2008
Frittata With Ham and Roasted Pepper