10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe. I used double the amount of vinegar, using wine vinegar, and only used about half of the Italian spices. Be sure to add the red wine for this dressing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seashell August 11, 2003

I love garlic, but I thought there was too much in this recipe. I also didn't think 2 tbs of vinegar was the right proportion for a cup of olive oil...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FranTic64 December 21, 2008

Delicious!!! Thank you for sharing. -Carol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol1ribeiro June 01, 2008

I mixed this all up in my blender (including the wine and doubled balsamic based on other reviews) and it tasted great!!! Thanks for the recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheftobe November 14, 2006

I thought it was good! It was a bit dry, but I don't think I used enough oil - my handy chopper couldn't handle it all! I sauted my boneless, skinless chicken in it - GREAT! Thanks! Brandi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandi1976 January 28, 2006

I also double the amount of vinegar. It seemed to add a little more taste to the dressing. It was a great hit at Christmas dinner this year. I have never attempted to make a salad dressing previously, so I was happy that it was so easy. Did anyone else find that it does not remain liquid if kept in the refrigerator after a day or two?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fyrestorm March 11, 2004

I thought the spices were over powering and way too much pepper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ February 15, 2004

DH and I loved this dressing. We thought the flavors blended perfectly together, just the right amount of each ingredient. I didn't change a thing, but I did forget to add the red wine. I'll be making this often. Thanks Chippie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat February 11, 2004

I used more garlic and balsamic in the recipe. The red wine should not be optional. Even red wine vinegar would be good. Great to mix everything in a food processer then bottle for future use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo September 17, 2003

Very nice dressing Chippie !! Love balsamic vinegar; I used the red wine and Walla Walla onion. It was perfect over spinach salad with white mushrooms, walnuts and red onion rings. I just happened to have some fresh basil i needed to use up, about a quarter cup, rolled and cut in strips, went very well in it, next time I'll use the dried. The shredded parmesan cheese is a nice touch, especially with the spinach. Thanks for sharing, we will be using this often.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf August 13, 2003
Garlicky Balsamic Vinegar Dressing