Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Herb Stuffed Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Herb Stuffed Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2011

      These lovely tomatoes were as tasty as I had expected. DS left an open package of shredded "Italian Blend" cheese here a little while back and I used some of that. They were wonderful with some homemade bread sticks I had in the freezer and grilled chicken breast. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2012

      I made this for a light lunch. I made the recipe as written, and this was very lovely. This would make a great side dish for a nice grilled piece of meat. I will make these again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

    • on September 02, 2009

      I thought these were pretty good. I was looking for a recipe that was vegetarian and did not contain rice. This fit the bill and I am glad I tried it. I did not have italian seasoned crumbs, so I just crushed some crackers and put in fresh rosemary, thyme, and basil. I also used 3 garlic cloves. Easy to put together. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      We really enjoy stuffed tomatoes and these were no exception! I stuck to recipe, other than using fresh basil instead of the parsley, since I had plenty to use up! I also put some grated mozzarella on top of the breadcrumb mixture, which I now see is not in the directions, so why did I do that? seemed like a good idea at the time, I guess! Very good recipe and much enjoyed, Susie, thank you! made for Ramadan Tag, August 09

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I made this for lunch because I had all the ingredients on hand. Except I substituted mozzarella for provolone and used homemade breadcrumbs. It tasted really, really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      We all enjoyed these a lot! I had to use provolone and parmesan for the stuffing and then a cheddar/monterrey blend for the tops since I was short on cheese. I used the garlic, the more the better in my book. I did not have italian breadcrumbs, only plain so I just put in fresh basil along with the parsley. Also, I broiled them at the end for a few minutes which made them a bit crispy on top, yum:) My nine year-old son filled the tomatoes for me so this is a great recipe to let the kids help out in the kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      We loved it! I used homemade bread crumbs seasoned with basil, oregano, parsley flakes, garlic powder, and onion powder. I included garlic, but I think next time I will probably saute it before adding it to the filling. I also substituted mozzarella cheese (on hand) and used non-stick cooking spray instead of butter in the pan. Thanks for a keeper - I've already had it twice in less than a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      The gift of a basket of farm fresh tomatoes from a friend has me looking for recipes to enjoy them. Did not need to look far as my PAC child had this marvelous recipe. I made three changes to adapt these to the WW core program: changing the breadcrumbs to fine ground softened bulgur, used butter flavored cooking spray to prepare the pan, and used soy provolone. The results were marvelous - fresh, bright and flavorful. I loved the way the herbed stuffing matched the tomato and seemed to make their flavors even meatier and sweeter. These were so good this side became my dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      I thought these were great, but my customers loved them even more. One said, "If you put these on the menu I would be here everyday just to eat one." Made these for the I recomend tag game July 08. Glad I did and thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Enjoyed these very much. I surprised at how much the flavor of the cheese came through. Made for ZWT4. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Fantastic tomatoes Susie! These were so good and had a wonderful flavor. Made for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers during ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I made this dish last night for a small dinner party. I did use a little mozzarella along with the provalone and I also mixed in a couple of TBSP of my tomatoe sauce. In the last 2 or 3 minutes I sprinkled a little extra grated cheese and put them under the broiler for 2 or 3 minutes. It was FABULOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Excellent! These were full of great flavors--I only wish my tomatoes were a bit meatier so I had more pulp to add. I compensated by adding a bit more garlic (ok, that had nothing to do with it as I always add more garlic).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      We loved these tomatoes!!! I used a mixture of shredded provolone and mozzarella but other then that I did not change a thing. I forgot to butter the casserole dish and it was fine without the buttering. We thought the seasoning was perfect and I want to try this again using fresh basil. Great Recipe Susie!!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      Had a great tomato crop this year making tomatoes the highlight of a good number of our meals earlier this fall. Served this along with barbecued pork chops. I am very fond of herbs but my family would have preferred less of the flat leaf parsley. Used finely minced garlic which we really liked. Next time and yes there will be a next time - will use only half a cup of the flat leaf and snip in the curly leaf to make up the one cup of chopped parsley - which is not quite as strong. The home grown tomatoes are a done deal for now so will be looking at giving this another go next season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      Easy to make and so very good! I sprinkled some extra shredded cheese on top of the filling before baking and used basil along with the parsley to complete the Italian cheese, tomato, and basil challenge for the world tour. Wonderful flavors, the tomatoes bake nicely, and very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      very good and very easy i would say definitely serve hot right out of the oven, ours sat for a little while and the stufffing got a little cold. But was still tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Easy to make and these would make a very tasty side dish to BBQd or grilled meats - or a yummy, light stand alone meal. I made a half quantity (3 fleshy truss tomatoes; I’m not sure what beefsteak tomatoes are) and we ate these with fried rice as a light evening meal. I used 4 cloves of minced garlic (I love garlic) and I added some fresh basil (in step 3) but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks Susie D!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      I saw this episode and made these the same night. I've love broiled and baked tomatoes and have made them many times, but never thought to dig out the pulp and include it in the filling! Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Herb Stuffed Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.3
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    53%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 472.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes