Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Italian Herb Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Herb Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2002

      This is another of those "empowering" recipes! I make a simple dish in which you pour a bottle of Italian dressing over chicken breasts and bake. It's one of my daughter's favorites. I used this recipe for the dressing and it was a hit! Thanks Inez for giving me the way to make this from scratch and eliminate more preservatives from my family's diet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

      My all-time favorite salad dressing is the Italian Seasonings Dressing Mix that you make in the cruette. Well, this is just as good, if not better and definitly less expensive than paying almost $1.50 for one packet of mix. Thanks Inez, for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2003

      This is a good, tangy salad dressing. I served it with a green salad. I am happy that MIL (a gourmet cook) tasted it an approved.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2003

      Great and easy, I made one little change though since i did not have any red wine vinegar i used a 1/4 cup of burgundy and 1/4 white vinegar. AWSOME TASTE. try it you like it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      Inez, you've done it again! I hate buying bottled dressings that taste way too salty and are full of preservatives and second-rate ingredients. Well, now I know exactly where to turn when I need a bit of Italian dressing for my next recipe or salad. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2002

      This was very simple to make and tasted great! I used it in Beef Roast. The homemade italian salad dressing gave the beef roast gravy recipe a better flavor than storebought italian dressing. Very nice recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2002

      This is a delicious Italian dressing, Inez! Made exactly as directed and let stand in the refridgerator for several hours to chill and allow flavors to combine. Served with tossed greens with avocado. Simple and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      Great dressing with lots of flavor. I appreciate that it doesn't have mayonnaise in it--this is the real thing. I added more olive oil out of personal preference, but it was excellent even before I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Thank you MizzNezz! Very good quick Italian dressing. Left out the parmesan as I don't eat dairy, and added a few hot pepper flakes. Personally I thought it needed a smidge more vinegar, but that's just me. Just needed a bit more twang! But the spices/garlic are great. I have seen a lot of dressings calling for half this amount and I imagine they must be rather bland! Also love the red wine vinegar as opposed to cider. It does make the difference in my opinion! It DOES separate super fast!! Weirdly fast lol But I don't mind stirring and spooning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      This is absolutely wonderful. The key is no substitutions and to let it chill so that the flavors meld together. It tastes a lot like the dressing I had in Italy. Fresh ingredients are the stars of the recipe. The powders do not do any dressing justice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I thought it was a bit too oily myself. And it seemed no matter how much I shaked it the dressing seemed to separate very quickly. The flavor was okay though. Salad turned out great. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I'm currently in a remote area where I can't get to the supermarket very often. I made this for another recipe, and thought it was outstanding. Simple, I had ALL the ingredients and thte taste was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      This dressing was ok.I found it a little too oily for my liking.I did not have red wine vinegar so I used white and balsamic,which also made it very vinegar-y.I don't know if it was just because I substituted but it was not quite what I was looking for. I just wanted to add that I didn't really like this recipe as a salad dressing but it's excellent as a marinade.I used it on pork loin chops,it would be great on chicken too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      Great dressing. One of the first I have ever made, and as easy as can be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Very good salad dressing, I'm not a big fan of Italian but needed some for on my linguini salad so instead of going to the store head to recipzaar. It tasted great and I had everything in my cupboard. Will definitely make again and will even try on my salads, maybe I do like Italian after all. thank you MizzNezz for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2006

      Lovely, smooth dressing that I will use to replace store bought. I used it the first time for a Wild Rice Salad and again for a Pasta Salad. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2005

      A pretty good basic dressing. I found the vineger flavor a little strong- maybe more sugar would help remedy this? All-in-all good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      I threw this recipe together quickly to go with a really big sub sandwich for myself and my co-workers. We did have time to allow it to chill and let the flavors blend for which I am grateful for. I think chilling makes a really important difference in taste. I didn't have any fresh garlic on hand, so used garlic powder which worked very well in a pinch. I also included a little bit of onion powder just because it seemed right. (I am sure fresh garlic and onion will be much nicer next time I make this dressing, and yes, there will be a next time.) Thanks for a delicious and easy condiment to our sandwich. I can't wait to try it on a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2005

      Well I hate to break the five star cycle but I signe d the honest review form soooo...We didn't care for this dressing. I did use exta virgin olive oil cold pressed. Could that be why??? Oh well, thanks anyhow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2004

      This is the best salad dressing. It is not only delicious, but healthy which is a real plus. I think that when I make it next I will add even more garlic. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Herb Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (300 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1198.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1177
    98%
    Total Fat 130.7 g
    201%
    Saturated Fat 18.6 g
    93%
    Cholesterol 3.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 1002.8 mg
    41%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites