20 Reviews

This is another of those "empowering" recipes! I make a simple dish in which you pour a bottle of Italian dressing over chicken breasts and bake. It's one of my daughter's favorites. I used this recipe for the dressing and it was a hit! Thanks Inez for giving me the way to make this from scratch and eliminate more preservatives from my family's diet!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vverkin925 September 09, 2002

My all-time favorite salad dressing is the Italian Seasonings Dressing Mix that you make in the cruette. Well, this is just as good, if not better and definitly less expensive than paying almost $1.50 for one packet of mix. Thanks Inez, for another great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook August 19, 2002

This is a good, tangy salad dressing. I served it with a green salad. I am happy that MIL (a gourmet cook) tasted it an approved.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas December 04, 2003

Great and easy, I made one little change though since i did not have any red wine vinegar i used a 1/4 cup of burgundy and 1/4 white vinegar. AWSOME TASTE. try it you like it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
damndave July 08, 2003

Inez, you've done it again! I hate buying bottled dressings that taste way too salty and are full of preservatives and second-rate ingredients. Well, now I know exactly where to turn when I need a bit of Italian dressing for my next recipe or salad. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville October 07, 2002

This was very simple to make and tasted great! I used it in Beef Roast. The homemade italian salad dressing gave the beef roast gravy recipe a better flavor than storebought italian dressing. Very nice recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sml212 September 20, 2002

This is a delicious Italian dressing, Inez! Made exactly as directed and let stand in the refridgerator for several hours to chill and allow flavors to combine. Served with tossed greens with avocado. Simple and delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev September 10, 2002

Great dressing with lots of flavor. I appreciate that it doesn't have mayonnaise in it--this is the real thing. I added more olive oil out of personal preference, but it was excellent even before I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kris B. February 01, 2012

Thank you MizzNezz! Very good quick Italian dressing. Left out the parmesan as I don't eat dairy, and added a few hot pepper flakes. Personally I thought it needed a smidge more vinegar, but that's just me. Just needed a bit more twang! But the spices/garlic are great. I have seen a lot of dressings calling for half this amount and I imagine they must be rather bland! Also love the red wine vinegar as opposed to cider. It does make the difference in my opinion! It DOES separate super fast!! Weirdly fast lol But I don't mind stirring and spooning!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma September 14, 2011

This is absolutely wonderful. The key is no substitutions and to let it chill so that the flavors meld together. It tastes a lot like the dressing I had in Italy. Fresh ingredients are the stars of the recipe. The powders do not do any dressing justice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greadygranny January 06, 2011
Italian Herb Salad Dressing