Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Italian Meatball Subs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Meatball Subs

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2013

      Good and I want your sub, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      These were great! My DH dosen't normally like meatballs but he thought these were the best he had ever eaten. Love that you cook them in the crock pot. They were simple and easy. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      These were fantastic! I admit, I ran out of time so just mixed the sauce on the stove top (never used a crock pot!) It was incredibly easy and delish. I used low fat cheese and egg whites instead of regular eggs. Also, I didn't know I was out of milk until I began this recipe (long day :)) so I subbed light sour cream. I topped with the cream cheese spread from Divine Meatball Sandwiches which made these out of this world! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This recipe was absolutly fabulous! I doubled it and put half the onion in the meat balls and got about 3 marriage proposals after it! Great for a group of people, keep it on warm in the crock pot so no matter when someone gets there they have a nice hott meal! :D Definitly a MUST MAKE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      Is there another word for AMAZING to describe how good these are? Seriously, one bite and I was in heaven. I did it a bit differently to cut down steps. I used 1lb ground turkey, mixed that with one egg and the rest of the ingredients as it. For the sauce I used a bottle of spaghetti sauce, half a bell pepper cut up, half an onion sliced, a clove of garlic sliced. Put it in the crock pot on high for one hour and it was done. (Cook your meatballs first in the oven of course). Assembled the sandwich by digging out the bread in the middle and forming a well for the meatballs to sit in. Spread with butter, sprinkle with garlic salt, place meatballs, layer pepperoni's on top of that and two big slices of provolone cheese. Put under broiler for 4 minutes. So delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      The past 9 years I live in a small town, this took me back to my city days where I had access to good Italian restaurants and food. Was a perfect meal on a cold Saturday night. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      This was an AWESOME recipe! People keep asking me for it! The touch of the garlic bun makes a difference too. I served it with provolone and it was a hit on football day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I really enjoy a good meatball sub, and this one was no exception. I made like the recipe says using the ingredients listed, but cut back to 1/2 tsp. on the salt in the meatballs. Worked out great for us. DS and his wife thought they were excellent and so did I! We will have these often for lunches. I made a double batch and froze some of the sauce and meatballs in qt. size Ziploc baggies, to have again when I want something quick. Oh almost forgot, I didn't use green pepper in the sauce as I didn't have any and it was great anyway. I cooked meatballs in the oven on a cookie sheet, then added to the sauce on top of the stove and cooked for 3 hrs. on low. Melted the provolone on top and served sprinkled with extra parmesan cheese in sub rolls. Thanks for this awesome recipe Mimi! Milt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      My husband loved these! Served them on hoagies with melted provolone. Great flavor!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      TO DIE FOR MEATBALLS! They were sooo good. My picky son even loved them. Thank you for the delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Printed this off a long time ago and went to review under the number 1076842 and couldn't, but this is the exact same recipe. DELICIOUS. I cook the meatballs on a cooking stone in the oven rather than broil or saute and prefer shredded mozzarella over the provolone. The last few times I omitted all salt and used low sodium tomato products (hubby has HBP) with no ill results. Meatball/sauce mixture also freezes and reheats well. I always make a double batch and throw it in the freezer for a night I don't have time or feel like cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      These were pretty good, however we felt that they were much too salty. I would cut the salt in half in the sauce and I would leave the salt out of the meatballs altogether. It calls for seasoned breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese, both which are already very salty. If you add the salt on top of it, it is too much. I will make these again trying it that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      These are to die for! I just love the recipe. I didn't realize there wasn't a photo posted of these delious meatball subs, so when I make them next time I will take a picture and post it. I made the recipe just as written, except I didn't use green pepper (didn't have any), and instead of the tomato paste I used puree (all I had in the house). Wow these are great! I'm so glad I found this recipe and tried them I made them last fiday and then again last night not even a week passed before I had to make them again. Good job Mimi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Meatball Subs

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.5
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    38%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 142.1 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1992.1 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 9.3 g
    37%
    Protein 33.7 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes