8 Reviews

I adore the cheesecakeyness of this and whats not to love about lemon! I used 1 cup of Splenda for the sugar and that was spot on. I wondered about no baking powder but I'm so glad that I didn't give into my my doubt and just followed the recipe as written. I got a deep, moist, creamy cheesecake like (toward the center)pan of goodness. Skipped the sugar topping because Splenda just doesn't look as nice as sugar, I baked for the min time given but will cut back of that next time as the outside next to the pan was done a bit more than I would have liked. Not the recipes fault, my oven is an over achiever. Made for ZWT7.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 31, 2011

Wowee....this was amazing. I added 2 tsp of baking powder and had to split the cake into to 8 inch pans. Also, I didn't have lemon extract, but used the juice from one lemon....cake came out light and fluffy, moist and delicious. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
confectionist June 15, 2010

This was good and very dense and rich! It looked very elegant and made a great impression at a dinner party. My only complaint was that is was a tad too sweet. I will definitely decrease the sugar in the topping next time if not in the cake as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast January 13, 2014

Made for ZWT #7 and the Witchin Kitchen team. I made as directed and only change was to increase the making time to almost an hour. I want to comment also about the servings...this is baked in a large cake pan and I think the servings should be more like 10 - 12. The cake itself was a little dry but great with the sauce. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan May 31, 2011

I did not make the cake part of this recipe, I only made the blueberry topping to serve over some pancakes. It was exactly what I was looking for. I had to use frozen berries, but we couldn't tell the difference. I think this sauce would be very good served over vanilla ice cream or lemon sherbert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
<Ming> March 29, 2010

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap #32* This was a really new experience for me -- DH has always done the cheesecakes. I followed the recipe exactly, except for reducing the sugar to 1 cup, (recommended by another reviewer), and glad I did ! Baked at 350 for 45 minutes, and the toothpick was clean. We thought the cake was just a tad dry -- not at all gummy, and came out of the pan easily after 10 minutes. No photo, since the one on the recipe is very yummy. I have pricked the cake with a fork in several places, and drizzled a few tablespoons of Lemoncello over the top. I also added a tad of Lemoncello to the blueberry topping. I baked in a 9" pan and watched the batter "breathe" while baking -- rising about 1" over the top of the pan, but no spillage. There is MUCH left ! I will keep in the frig, hoping to add some moisture. Thanks for posting, ~Leslie~, I will keep this in mind for special occasions with MANY participants !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney September 03, 2009

This was a hit with my guests even though it was gooey in the centre (the toothpick came out clean, I swear!). I left out the lemon zest due to Rita L's comments about it being too lemony. I kept the sugar the same and I didn't think it was too sweet because the topping was tart enough to even it all out. I used mixed berries because my grocery store didn't have blueberries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tanya Pants February 22, 2007

I found this Moist Dense(not light) and Lemony. I did follow all the directions for the cake except I used a 10 inch cake pan. I was worried about it coming out of the pan but that was no problem. I like the 10 inch pan because it makes it go farther. And you really don`t need a big slice of this filling cake. As for the topping I used Sharon `s Blueberry Marmalade Blueberry Marmalade. The cake and topping are wonderful with each other. I would cut back on the sugar in the cake. I would even say just to use one cup. But that`s my preference. You know as I write this I`m craving an other slice! ;)Me Bad!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 30, 2005
Italian Ricotta Lemon Cake With Blueberry Topping