45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was just perfect!!! Thanks to Mean Chef for posting! Flavor and consistency were exactly what I would expect from a true alfredo sauce and sooooo simple to make! BF was a way happy camper! Make this one exactly as the recipe states and you'll have a great meal!

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin in the Couv September 23, 2002

Very easy to make, not to mention tasty and filling too. Liked the black pepper and nutmeg additions. This was enough for 3 servings, served with a specialty garlic bread and a mixed green salad.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* October 31, 2002

Excellent recipe. I left out the nutmeg because my husband is allergic to it, and it was still terrific. I bet this would really be awesome with some mushrooms and chicken thrown in, or mushrooms and shrimp/scallops. Yum.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom November 03, 2002

This is the most simple, basic Fettucine Alfredo recipe one can find. It has a great taste and it is extremely easy to make. Add rosemary for a more fragrant meal.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tyler Kreider March 16, 2003

Very very good and easy to make. I added left over baked salmon to it and gave it a different touch. I will definately make this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbillem February 12, 2003

This was a very yummy alfredo! I wasn't sure what parmigiano-reggiano cheese was, so I used that Kraft 3 cheese parmisan cheese. Excellent flavor and super easy to make! Thanks a million for posting this recipe. It's a keeper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Nachtigal December 10, 2002

I just love Fettuccine Alfredo and this recipe tastes better than some I have had at restaurants! I followed the recipe exactly and it worked great for me! My family thanks you for the great recipe, we ate well tonight! ( I made this with Southwestern Grilled Chicken With Lime Butter Southwestern Grilled Chicken with Lime Butter )

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * July 31, 2003

Love this easy recipe. Will often use 1/2 reduced fat sour cream and 1/2 fat free yogurt in place of whipping cream as well as smart Balance margarine instead of butter. This reduces the calories, improves the nutrition while having little impact on overall flavor, as I still use good quality cheese. I will often add a few veggies depending on what is available. Becomes a great pasta primavera. Thanks for posting. Sorry to take so long to review Judy in WA

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godbreathed01 February 12, 2010

Good stuff. This is the REAL fettuccine alfredo. I searched a lot of different alfredo recipes here on recipezaar, a lot of which are not authentic because they contain cream cheese or mozzarella. This is the one that caught my fancy as it is the real thing. I'm glad I chose this, it was great. Simple, tasty and quick to make. no improvements needed, this is wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Cooks May 06, 2009

Let me just say, that I have never attempted homemade alfredo sauce and I am not even sure that I did it correctly. It tasted VERY good, but I'm not sure I had the consistency right. I added chicken to mine and perhaps that is why I didn't have enough sauce -- also I used a 12 oz pkg of fettuccine pasta -- not a 1 lb pkg and there was WAY more than my husband and I could eat, probably 4-5 servings. Will definately be making this one again!!!! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Desperate_Housewife July 14, 2003
Mean Chef's Fettuccine Alfredo