Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Mean Chef's Fettuccine Alfredo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Fettuccine Alfredo

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      This was just perfect!!! Thanks to Mean Chef for posting! Flavor and consistency were exactly what I would expect from a true alfredo sauce and sooooo simple to make! BF was a way happy camper! Make this one exactly as the recipe states and you'll have a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2002

      Very easy to make, not to mention tasty and filling too. Liked the black pepper and nutmeg additions. This was enough for 3 servings, served with a specialty garlic bread and a mixed green salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2002

      Excellent recipe. I left out the nutmeg because my husband is allergic to it, and it was still terrific. I bet this would really be awesome with some mushrooms and chicken thrown in, or mushrooms and shrimp/scallops. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      This is the most simple, basic Fettucine Alfredo recipe one can find. It has a great taste and it is extremely easy to make. Add rosemary for a more fragrant meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      Very very good and easy to make. I added left over baked salmon to it and gave it a different touch. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      This was a very yummy alfredo! I wasn't sure what parmigiano-reggiano cheese was, so I used that Kraft 3 cheese parmisan cheese. Excellent flavor and super easy to make! Thanks a million for posting this recipe. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      I just love Fettuccine Alfredo and this recipe tastes better than some I have had at restaurants! I followed the recipe exactly and it worked great for me! My family thanks you for the great recipe, we ate well tonight! ( I made this with Southwestern Grilled Chicken With Lime Butter Southwestern Grilled Chicken with Lime Butter )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Love this easy recipe. Will often use 1/2 reduced fat sour cream and 1/2 fat free yogurt in place of whipping cream as well as smart Balance margarine instead of butter. This reduces the calories, improves the nutrition while having little impact on overall flavor, as I still use good quality cheese. I will often add a few veggies depending on what is available. Becomes a great pasta primavera. Thanks for posting. Sorry to take so long to review Judy in WA

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Good stuff. This is the REAL fettuccine alfredo. I searched a lot of different alfredo recipes here on recipezaar, a lot of which are not authentic because they contain cream cheese or mozzarella. This is the one that caught my fancy as it is the real thing. I'm glad I chose this, it was great. Simple, tasty and quick to make. no improvements needed, this is wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      Let me just say, that I have never attempted homemade alfredo sauce and I am not even sure that I did it correctly. It tasted VERY good, but I'm not sure I had the consistency right. I added chicken to mine and perhaps that is why I didn't have enough sauce -- also I used a 12 oz pkg of fettuccine pasta -- not a 1 lb pkg and there was WAY more than my husband and I could eat, probably 4-5 servings. Will definately be making this one again!!!! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2003

      ABSOLUTELY THE BEST !!!! i learned how to cook after my wife left and have been searching for a good alfredo sauce and this is it. DO it exactly and they will beg for seconds. Salu (i used half romano and half parmesan)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

    • on June 12, 2010

      Left out the nutmeg but followed the recipe otherwise. Great sauce with the noodles! This has fast become a staple in my house it seems!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I love this one and come back to it time and time again. Thanks for a wicked good and speedy recipe--in fact the only online recipe I've ever used "as is"! It does make a lot, so if you are just cooking for one be sure to downsize, as Alfredo doesn't reheat well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Absolutey delicious. One MUST use good quality Parmesan, or as one reviewer suggested Parmesan Reggiano. I DOUBLED this EXCEPT I kept the pasta to 1.5 LBS instead of 2. PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Excellent old-fashion fettuccine alfredo. Not too saucy but has a definite parmeggian taste. Very quick, easy and delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Very tasty recipe which I revised some after is got to thick & I followed the recipe exactly. I also used: 1/2 cup skim milk (with the heavy whipping cream) NOTE TO ONE VIEWER/RATER: 1 PINT = .998 CUP (mine came to 1 full cup as I let this pint drain completely) White pepper instead of black 1 Head of steamed broccoli (added cooked florets at last minute and tossed twice) Instead of parm cheese (boring)....I used freshly grated Parm-Romano Cheese, this melted smoothly & was more taster. Note: 3/4 cups also = 6 ounces (I use a food weight scale for shredded cheese for exact consistency). (Too much air between shreds if using regular measuring cup) Unless you use just Parm. Cheese allow as his wonderful recipe calls for. Thought about adding garlic as some viewer indicate, but did not feel this pasta dish needed the kick. INSTEAD, FOR MY SECOND "SMALL" PLATE, (1/2 pound pasta left in pan) I ADDED 1/4 CUP OF HUNTS TOMATO SAUCE AND REHEATED...WOW, EXCELLENT! Since I have been trying a few pasta recipes these past 2 weeks, this one ranks number 1 in my recipe book. Thanks for the "Mean" Recipe, sorry for modifications, but we all have different taste!! :) Thanks again Jeff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      This sauce is delicious! I doubled it and made a pound of pasta. I also added about 2 cloves of minced garlic to the butter as it was melting. This was so fast and easy...it's going to be a regular in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Fettuccine Alfredo

    Serving Size: 1 (398 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1344.1
     
    Calories from Fat 673
    50%
    Total Fat 74.8 g
    115%
    Saturated Fat 44.3 g
    221%
    Cholesterol 396.2 mg
    132%
    Sodium 813.5 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 129.1 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 39.7 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites