Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Meatball Sub Sandwich Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Meatball Sub Sandwich Casserole

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2009

      Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I had to use 1 and 1/2 lbs of meat in order to get enough meatballs. Using only 1 lb gave me 16 meatballs and I really need 24-ish to fill the dish. I also made the meatballs half ground beef and half ground pork, but that's just a flavor preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

    • on January 14, 2008

      I had leftover meatballs and sauce from a recent spaghetti dinner and some almost stale hard rolls. This recipe worked great. The flavor didn't knock my socks off (maybe that was my sauce?) but it was a quick, reliable recipe that I am sure that I will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I cheated with this one & used frozen meatballs but otherwise made as directed cut down to feed 3. I must admit I was a bit unsure of the bread with this but I added it anyway using some lebanese bread I had leftover. This was really simple to throw together and quite tasty. I'm still not sure whether I'm keen on the bread addition so would probably used some cooked pasta as a base next time but then it's not a sub sandwich casserole is it! (wink)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      One of my favorite meals!! I cheat as well and use frozen meatballs that have been cooking all day in the crockpot! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      This was a real crowd pleaser! I cheated and used frozen meatballs. Also, instead of Italian bread, I used soft breadsticks. I was able to throw this together fast, stick it in the oven and forget it while I was busy with other things. Thanks a bunch for the tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      This was a great tag for me & made the same dy as I had leftovers from another tagged pasta dish. While I did not serve it in subs as you suggested, I did make the recipe exactly as written to serve as a main dish w/the pasta-veggie combo already on hand + a green salad. The meatballs are good, but the creamy tomato sauce is the star of this recipe. It is rich, but worth the splurge. My bet is it can be made w/equal success using low-fat cheeses to improve nutritional data. Versatility also favours this recipe as it can be used for subs, atop spaghetti or even made as mini meatloaves & served w/the lovely sauce. This will definitely be repeated. Thx for sharing the recipe w/us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      The cream cheese was just a little weird for me, but I'll definitely make this again when I'm in the mood for a very rich tasting meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      I SO TOTALLY cheated making this recipe, but it was a 5* plus all the way. I used pre-made turkey meatballs and a rosemary garlic bread for the base. Additionally, I used 1/2 wine and 1/2 water and a mushroom based spaghetti sauce. The cream cheese/mayo mixture really makes this a rich and yummy dish. By using my shortcuts, this made a very quick weeknight meal that was thouroughly enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      Yum - this was delicious and a hit with the whole family (including son who does not like casseroles with flavors mixed together!). I did use fat free mayo & lowfat cream cheese. and for the mixed herbs I used a "frozen - defrosted ice cube of homemade pesto" (I make pesto over summer & freeze in ice cube tray to use all year). A real keeper! thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Meatball Sub Sandwich Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (272 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 776.9
     
    Calories from Fat 414
    53%
    Total Fat 46.0 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 20.0 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 129.7 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1701.3 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 34.7 g
    69%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed Italian herbs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites