Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / microwave polenta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    microwave polenta

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2002

      I love polenta, but all that stirring makes me nuts, and I always burn the bottom of the pan. This is such an easy way to make polenta, and it keeps very well in the fridge, since I'm the only one in the family who likes the stuff. I used some great local Parmesan cheese instead of the gorgonzola, and served it with some super-oregano infused tomato sauce. This makes a great breakfast as well! Thanks Chia, you've posted a winner for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2003

      Hello there..this is the first recipe that I tried. I actually cooked my polenta mixture for a further 5 mins in the microwave, as my DH loves all of his food 'well cooked'...lol After the mixture was cooked I poured it into a pyrex baking dish and generously layered it with grated cheese. I popped it under the grill just to make it golden brown on top, then sprinkled it with chopped spring onion..yummy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Hubby: "I like this. You can make this again for me." Love those words. I used chicken broth instead of water and I used Parmesan cheese because it's what I had. Thank you! Sure beats stirring!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      this came out nicely. i used romano cheese because that's what i had. i broiled it afterwards to make a nice crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      This is a real find for me. It turned out perfect for my breakfast. I made half of this recipe while cutting down on the salt I added feta in place of gorgonzola (darn.. didn't have it in the fridge). I also added about a tablespoon of Romano. I served my perfect poached egg #208601 over the creamy, cheesy polenta and had a breakfast for a queen! You must try this. I have a 1,000 watt microwave. It turned out great and now I have a little leftover sitting in a small loaf pan so I can slice and grill.<br/>UPDATE 3/4/2014 Made with Gorgonzola and jalapenos, cilantro, cheddar and Bacon Salt. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      This is easy and so delicious. I wish I had made this recipe sooner. I may never purchase pasta again. I will definitely not purchase those chunks of pre-made polenta again. This came out creamy and rich even though I only put about 1.5 tablespoon of butter and about 2 tablespoons of freshly grated parmesan cheese because I did not have gorgonzola. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      I tried this in a 2.5 liter round Pyrex souffle dish with a plastic microwave cover with the vent completely opened. It made a huge mess, bubbling up around the cover at the 12 minute mark, when it was still very watery. I cleaned the mess, left the lid off, and cautiously cooked it in three more two minute increments (total of 6 more minutes) in order to not have it bubble out of the dish. I didn't use paper towel because it seemed to me that it would have fallen into the dish. I sure liked the idea of this, but it didn't work out for me at all. Once it was finally done, it was great, but I am hoping my review might prevent someone else from having the same technical difficulties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2012

      It took more than twice the recommended time but much easier than stovetop and very good. I will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Excellent and so easy! What a nice change from bread or pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      This turns out great, smooth and creamy. I left out the cheese and added 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp garlic powder. I spooned the finished polenta into a bowl and then spooned warmed canned Dennisons beanless chili over it. It's kind of a mock tamale. My family loves this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      LOVE it! Delicious and so easy. The result was a creamy concoction. I added a pinch of red pepper and didn't have gorgonzola, so used parmesan. In my oven it was 5 minutes + 4 minutes. Will be making it frequently. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This is very delicious (I added a little minced garlic and used Romano because that's all I had) but the quantity of cornmeal is insufficient. A good ratio is 3 to 1 so for 4 cups of water, it should be 1-1/2 cups of cornmeal. At least for the consistency I like; nice and firm and not the least bit runny. I did try it as is and microwaved it for 7 minutes longer but it still didn't set. I put it on the stove and added cornmeal to finish it off to the consistency I wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      It's a bit strong for me...think I may have added a bit to much salt and I used 1/2 cup of shredded Romano instead. But my son loves it and that is what counts so you get a 5 star. Oh and I can't seem to get it to set like the store bought Palenta. Not sure what I am to do about that. *** We got a different microwave and now it sets just fine... I didn't add the cheese or pepper and my son loved it much better now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Easy peasy polenta!! This was an awesome side dish this hot summer night that didn't require me to stand over a steaming saucepan stirring and stirring although it tastes just as good, which is why I gave it 5 stars. I cut the recipe in half and used 1/2c of cornmeal to 2c water baking it in a 1qt round casserole with lid stirring with a whisk from time to time. Served with Sauteed Zucchini, Cherry Tomatoes, Olives and Basil. Made for ZWT4. **Update** I've made this several more times and most recently with Chicken Stew W/Polenta. I use this recipe as a base and rarely add the salt, butter or gorganzola. The polenta comes out perfectly every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This is a really easy and tasty polenta. My one gripe: too salty. The gorgonzola adds a considerable amount of salt, and two teaspoons is just too much for my taste. So I reduced the salt added by half and the result was pretty good! I served this along with a tomato-based stew and its flavors were complementary. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      AWESOME!! Love that I can make polenta now so quickly and easily. I served this with Chicken Sausage Saute #256283, and it was AMAZING!! Thanks so much for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This was SO easy and so good! We ate it with some marinara sauce for an appetizer. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Really easy and quick. I needed to either halve the recipe or use a bigger casserole dish - bit of an overflow happened! It was a great side dish and left heaps for another meal (stuffed polenta tonight for us!) Thanks for putting this up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      My first polenta and this method worked like a charm! I used half water and half skim milk to get an even creamier texture, some leftover Epicurean Herb Butter and parmesan cheese. Mine was really thick after 8 minutes so I called it done. ;-) Thanks for posting this easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I made this tonight and it was awesome! I used blue cheese because it was what I had available. I have never made polenta before and I was impressed by how easy it was. Thanks for this, Chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for microwave polenta

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.4
     
    Calories from Fat 53
    56%
    Total Fat 5.9 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 14.6 mg
    4%
    Sodium 685.8 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites