27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love polenta, but all that stirring makes me nuts, and I always burn the bottom of the pan. This is such an easy way to make polenta, and it keeps very well in the fridge, since I'm the only one in the family who likes the stuff. I used some great local Parmesan cheese instead of the gorgonzola, and served it with some super-oregano infused tomato sauce. This makes a great breakfast as well! Thanks Chia, you've posted a winner for me!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj December 08, 2002

Hello there..this is the first recipe that I tried. I actually cooked my polenta mixture for a further 5 mins in the microwave, as my DH loves all of his food 'well cooked'...lol After the mixture was cooked I poured it into a pyrex baking dish and generously layered it with grated cheese. I popped it under the grill just to make it golden brown on top, then sprinkled it with chopped spring onion..yummy :)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stella Baby February 22, 2003

Hubby: "I like this. You can make this again for me." Love those words. I used chicken broth instead of water and I used Parmesan cheese because it's what I had. Thank you! Sure beats stirring!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie April 16, 2012

this came out nicely. i used romano cheese because that's what i had. i broiled it afterwards to make a nice crust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bramble March 07, 2004

I made this for lunch today. Amazing! Used feta because it was what I had. Tip for boiling over: I broke a wooden skewer and placed it in the dish. It breaks the surface tension. Because I ground my own corn I did have to cook a bit longer, but it was delicious with a poached egg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTeechur August 01, 2014

This is a real find for me. It turned out perfect for my breakfast. I made half of this recipe while cutting down on the salt I added feta in place of gorgonzola (darn.. didn't have it in the fridge). I also added about a tablespoon of Romano. I served my perfect poached egg #208601 over the creamy, cheesy polenta and had a breakfast for a queen! You must try this. I have a 1,000 watt microwave. It turned out great and now I have a little leftover sitting in a small loaf pan so I can slice and grill.<br/>UPDATE 3/4/2014 Made with Gorgonzola and jalapenos, cilantro, cheddar and Bacon Salt. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge March 04, 2014

This is easy and so delicious. I wish I had made this recipe sooner. I may never purchase pasta again. I will definitely not purchase those chunks of pre-made polenta again. This came out creamy and rich even though I only put about 1.5 tablespoon of butter and about 2 tablespoons of freshly grated parmesan cheese because I did not have gorgonzola. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 January 09, 2014

I tried this in a 2.5 liter round Pyrex souffle dish with a plastic microwave cover with the vent completely opened. It made a huge mess, bubbling up around the cover at the 12 minute mark, when it was still very watery. I cleaned the mess, left the lid off, and cautiously cooked it in three more two minute increments (total of 6 more minutes) in order to not have it bubble out of the dish. I didn't use paper towel because it seemed to me that it would have fallen into the dish. I sure liked the idea of this, but it didn't work out for me at all. Once it was finally done, it was great, but I am hoping my review might prevent someone else from having the same technical difficulties.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QOU4LIFE January 25, 2013

It took more than twice the recommended time but much easier than stovetop and very good. I will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eileen H. February 14, 2012

Excellent and so easy! What a nice change from bread or pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Empire920 May 04, 2010
microwave polenta