Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Moonstruck Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moonstruck Eggs

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2002

      I used regular red pepper, may try the roasted next time. I do know that I want to add some fresh mushrooms the next time. Good versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2003

      I made this for my kids for lunch today. They loved how the egg and toast already came connected. I ended up eating the vegetables. I think this is going to be one of their favorites and it was really quick and easy. My daughter loved pouring the egg in the middle of the bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      We make "one-eyes" all the time too, but I've never thought of serving them with peppers and onions. They add nice sharp flavor to an otherwise dull breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Growing up, my mom made "eggs in a nest" too. She used the rim of a drinking glass to cut out the middle of the bread and served the little round toasts on the side. Yummy. An old roommate used to tear out the middle in a square. She called them "Window Pane Eggs".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Lovely Sunday Brunch recipe. It is correct that you have to have good timing to have the onions, peppers fried bread and eggs still runny all come out just right. I sauted the peppers & onions - took them off the pan, fried one side of the bread removed the pan from the heat, flipped the bread and 4 minutes before I wan't to serve the eggs slipped them onto the browned side of the bread, put the veggies back into the pan, covered the pan, placed on medium heat and 4 minutes later perfect. I love the crunch of the fried bread. Thanks HF I haven't had fried bread in years and this combination is excellent - you must have a good memory! 21 Dec 08 Made again this time I added some leftover potato & mushrooms - Very tasty recipe. Oh I used orange peppers Loved it again Thanks HeatherFeather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Deliciousness on a piece of toast. Sticks with you until noon too. I burned the bottoms of the bread, but that actually tasted good. Put a little butter substitute on the bread and sprinkled a bit of garlic powder over it before toasting it in the pan. Good work, Heather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      As in movie, and for myself, I would probably forgo the thinly sliced onion except to add thinly sliced upper portions of scallions scattered around the edge of a serving plate for presentation. In the movie we don't see any onions being used. But for those who like onion(s), sure why not? I'd stick just with a slice or two of roasted red pepper (canned/bottled). The crushed garlic clove does get my attention though. I've always made my 'Eggs in Nest' with extra sourdough bread spread on some soft butter/margarine and sprinkled with grated parmesean cheese. Toasts up to a great tasty crunchy golden brown on a cast iron skillet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      The flavours blend well in this recipe. I kept the onion/pepper mix hot in the microwave while I cooked the bread & eggs. Will make this often. Only thing I did do different was to sprinkle chopped parsley over the onion/pepper mix to give a contrast of colours. Thanks for posting this 'keeper' :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moonstruck Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.4
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    38%
    Total Fat 11.4 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 423.0 mg
    141%
    Sodium 374.7 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes