11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so quick to whip up. I used fresh basil leaves and fresh lemon juice from a Meyers lemon. I have to buy a better shaker the one I have is not pretty to look at as you can see. I found this dressing to be just a wee bit too much vinegar tasting. Had a nice flavor though but the zip of the vinegar got me a couple of times. I will make it again but just for my tastes I will lessen the vinegar a tiny bit. Thanks for the posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny June 20, 2009

Since I eat a salad for my supper most nights I'm always looking for dressings to add a certain zing so I don't get bored. This one added just that. I did cut back on the redwine vinegar and added in two pinches of splenda sugar. I also used dried herbs as I didn't have access to fresh. I'll be eating this on my salad for quite a few nights and look forward to doing so.
Made for ZaarStars~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB August 24, 2011

I enjoyed this. I did forget to add the mustard. Which is odd for me because I also use Dijon in my dressings! Thanks. Made for ZWT 2011

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 10, 2011

Very quick, easy and delicious! Very similar to a local italian restaurant's dressing that I love - so it was heavenly to me! I would recommend using as many vegetables as possible in the salad; the dressing really makes those veggies sing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendelina June 09, 2011

A nice and quick dressing which uses ingredients I typically have on had. After reading the reviews I did reduce the white wine vinegar to 1/3 cup and added a pinch of sugar. It was made about an hour ahead and left on the counter until serving. Made for Vivacious Violets during ZWT7.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 08, 2011

A nice vinegarette style dressing. Really easy to make, and very good on a salad of simple greens. I had to use dried dill, as my dill plant is only two inches tall, and harvesting any would have killed it; but I used fresh herbs for the rest. I liked the tart bite of the vinegar and lemon, they were wonderful companions to the cress, radish, and spinach leaf I harvested from my garden to complete the salad. Made for ZWT7- Emerald City Shakers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH May 29, 2011

Reviewed during ZWT 7 - We really enjoyed this dressing on a garden salad as a side to a spaghetti dinner. I did cut down on the vinegar a tad , as suggested, for a less tart dressing. Photo also to be posted

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** May 29, 2011

Very easy dressing to throw together and I liked the addition of fresh herbs. I would maybe cut down on the amount of vinegar as it was a bit too tart for me. Made for ZWT-7, The Count and his Hot Bites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 May 28, 2011

I adored this dressing - I used all the ingredients listed, and also included the sour cream for a slightly creamy dressing!! This is so yum, the use of fresh herbs sends this right out into orbit!! Lovely, slightly tart, but oh so lovingly so. Perfect sitting atop fresh, sliced tomatoes from the garden and nice chilled garden lettuces. Will be using this often, and thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm July 27, 2010

This was good on a simple tossed green salad. I would however use all fresh herbs. Skipped the thyme because we don't care for it. Best made several hours in advance for best flavor. Reviewed for Veg Tag May 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl May 09, 2010
My Vinaigrette Dressing (Italian Style)