Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Not World Famous Spaghetti Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Not World Famous Spaghetti Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2003

      I guess I am used to spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage. I thought it tasted better with elbow macaroni topped with cheddar cheese than with spaghetti noodles. I would try it again with Italian sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2003

      This was fabulous!! Served it with a side salad and Texas Toast. I cooked mine in the crockpot for 6 hours on low. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      Yummy! Followed this exactly, and the only thing I added was some mushrooms, 'cause I eat them with most everything. I did have to add water a couple of times, and I've now got a really good batch of spaghetti sauce to enjoy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      It is similar to my mothers with a few alternative choices: I never use tomato paste as it is bitter.I use tomato puree,but like paste,it needs to cook awhile.If the sauce is thin,add some grated cheese.It will thicken it up .My mother never added wine,but I like it,especially if poultry is added.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Speghetti is my comfort food. This recipe was great. I did not use parsley because I ran out and it still tasted great. It was salty, spicy and hit the spot. I made the full recipe even though it is only me in hubby in the house. So I can have some handy in the fridge for when I am to lazy to cook this week. I am still working on the wine as we speak. With it only using a half cup of red wine it gives me time and the rest of the bottle to... relax during the 4 hour simmer. Thanks a bunch :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      This was my first attempt at spaghetti from scratch too!!! It turned out great. I didn't let it simmer for 4 hours, but turned out well anyway. Thanks a million!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      First time I've ever made my own sauce from scratch. This turned out really really great! I added the mushrooms too and they were great. It's hard to just eat a little of this, it's so good. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2004

      This Recipe is tops! Now a family favorite! My picky daughter said next time she wants her own pot full all to herself! My husband even liked it and he hates spaghetti! Thanks again! Texancook'r

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      I thought this was great, just how we like it! I did add mushrooms because we enjoy them in our sauce, and added 1/2 cup of chopped celery instead of the celery salt.Cooked in a regular pot, for the full 4 hrs, wasn't too thick, just perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2004

      Like Sharlene suggested, this would be good with some Italian sausage included. I also had one other (small) problem, I don't like V8 veggie juice, and the teaspoon of celery salt gave it a fair hint of that. If you like it, you'll probably LOVE this spaghetti sauce. Russell loved this sauce thank you CL.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      3 Stars for me = Average! I made recipe exactly to specs with the exception of using 2 lbs of frozen tomatoes from my summer garden. I felt this recipe was too salty and acidic to earn above a 3. However serves as a good base to create a good sauce. Like the creator says, modify it to your taste. If I made this again, I would do like others suggested. I would recommend to cut the celery salt and replace with fresh chopped celery. 2ndly I would eliminate the tomato paste, or just add 1 can and a bit more sugar to cut the high acidity which verges the recipe on the bitter side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Not World Famous Spaghetti Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.0
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    40%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 779.5 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes