Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Oh My!!! Spaghetti Sauce (Low Fat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Oh My!!! Spaghetti Sauce (Low Fat)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2010

      Good low fat recipe! I made a few changes due to ingredients on hand and the need to use up home canned tomatoes that I found in a cupboard.....:-) Instead of adding tomato paste and sauce, I drained 2 - 32 oz jars of canned tomatoes and used those. I also added about 1 tsp fresh ground nutmeg, a bay leaf and a few extra cloves of chopped garlic (I forgot to count but probably around 6 extra....we love garlic!) and used brown sugar instead of white. The only other thing I did differently was I cooked it in my large crockpot for 16 hours on low. When I was ready to use it for my lasagna I browned ground turkey breast onion and garlic (yes....more garlic!) and added it to the sauce and then simmered for about 10 minutes. Put my lasagna together using whole wheat lasagna noodles. It was DELICIOUS and I have enough to put 2 dinners worth in the freezer for future use! Thank you for sharing this simple and delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Made a couple of changes and added some meat, it was REALLY good. AND hubby made so that makes it even better for me! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Pretty good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Very, very tasty! This is going to be my standard spaghetti sauce from now on! I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, and omited the mushrooms. Instead of the garlic cloves, I just sprinkled a little bit of garlic powder into the sauce. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      So easy and delicious! I had to make a few substitutions due to what I had on hand. I added 1/2 tsp of thyme and oregano along with some extra dried basil because I had no Italian seasoning. Even after 1 1/2 tbsp of sugar I found the taste too acidic, so I added about 1/2 to 3/4 of a tbsp more of sugar. Additionally, I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes AND used dried minced onion in place of onion salt. Even with all those substitutions, it was still great and easy! Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Very Good! This is going to be my go to Spaghetti Sauce from now on!! My changes were instead of onion salt I used onion powder, didn't add the mushrooms, instead of minced garlic I used garlic powder! These are changes only because my DS was going to be eating this and I was catering to his taste! I used my own canned tomato sauce and my own canned crushed tomatoes! I did have to add in 2 tablespoons of vinegar and I think that is because I used my canned goods! This is perfect when you don't know what you are going to have for supper it is quick and easy!! I used this sauce to go with On the Go Ravioli Lasagna Thank for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      I wanted to try someone else's spaghetti sauce just to change things up. I am so glad that I chose this sauce since everyone cleaned their plates and said they thought it was great. I cut the basil to 1 tsp and the garlic to 1 large clove (personal taste). Delicious. Thanks Miss Diggy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      We made this exactly as stated and it was wonderful! It was perfectly sweetened, and it was super easy to make! We wouldn't change a thing about this one either, and believe me it will make the rotation! Thanks so much for posting your recipe, it makes a great quick dinner :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      I didnt really care for the flavour, Im thinking its the basil that Im not fond of in the sauce...HOWEVER, my two kids and my boyfriend both liked it. The only change I made was not to include the can of mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      A good basic sauce. I used it in Melanie's Tangy Chicken Casserole. I usually use canned, but would use this if I ran out of canned and had the ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      This turned out really good. I'm sure I'll make again and it's a recipe where most people have the ing on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      YUMMY!!!! We loved this and it was so easy to make! I did use fresh mushrooms instead and added Italian Meatballs Authentic Italian Meatballs. I will definately be making this again! Ty Miss Diggy for the fantastic post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      Really good! Such a simple recipe. I made a triple batch and froze it into containers for later. Defrosted for an easy dinner tonight. Only change was to use brown sugar, and I omited the worchestershire sauce (forgot to put it in). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Loved it! Used tomatoes from the garden instead of crushed tomatoes. After first bite, hubby said "much better than jarred stuff" Very easy to make! Can't wait for leftovers for lunch today! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

      Delicious!!! I liked this sauce alot! It was nice and full flavored. It was super easy and worth the minimal time! I usually use jar sauce but this will probably replace the jars. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2005

      I have made this sauce three times since seeing it posted. I will never buy the jarred stuff again. I added a little bit of red peppe flakes and frozen meatballs. I doubled the batch this last time so that I can have meatball subs using this sauce for the next night. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2005

      Really simple to make and it tasted great. For those of you who like it spicy, add a sprinkle of cayenne pepper. Super low calorie. I used a tomato sauce without any added sugar and replaced sugar with sweetener, that makes the sauce 0 weightwatchers points.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      This was very good and I will definitely be making this again. This is very thick sauce that clings well to pasta. We enjoyed the flavor and this was so easy to prepare, without having to wait hours for it to be ready. A good choice for busy nights. Mine needed to simmer longer though - I let it simmer an extra 15 minutes, since it really didn't taste done after the first 15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2004

      This is a great sauce. Real thick and rich. I used fresh shallots and mushrooms. Sometimes I will use sweet Italian sausage (out of the casing) which makes it a heart meat sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      It's 4 1/2 stars actually. This is very rich, thick and tasty. Everything a pasta sauce should be. I used fresh mushrooms and fresh basil. It had a nice little zing from the pepper and Italian seasoning too. And very low calorie-you gotta love that!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Oh My!!! Spaghetti Sauce (Low Fat)

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 89.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    12%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1116.1 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes