15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great flavor - loved it. Made a few minor modifications: added sm. chopped onion in with gr. beef while browning; rinsed meat to eliminate excess fat; added more garlic powder and italian seasoning; used no salt added tomatoes; added 1 8oz can no salt added tomato sauce; added 2 c. water (was very thick while cooking the noodles); stirred 1 tablespoon low fat ricotta cheese into each bowl of soup when serving. Will definately make it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyShu March 12, 2004

This was good. Nice change. Made with 1.5 lbs ground beef, added extra can of brooth and used basil, garlic & oregeno canned tomatoes. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
letkimknow January 04, 2010

Fauve, I made your soup for today's lunch. WOW, this was some really awesome tasting soup! I did however modified the soup to my liking. Besides adding the ingredients mentioned in this recipe, I also added the following ingredients... 3-1/2 tablespoons of diced onion, and 1 large clove of minced garlic, which I sauteed both, before adding them to the soup. I added a bit more of the Italian seasoing (1/4 teaspoon more). I subbed Italian diced tomatoes (which had basil, garlic & onions in it) for the regular canned diced tomatoes. I also added 1-(8 ounce) can of tomato sauce; plus when it came to adding the pasta, I used the pasta from a (6.4 ounce) box of Lasagna Hamburger Helper (which was about 2 cups - or about 4.5 ounces). That pasta worked well in this soup. Thanks Fauve, for sharing this recipe, as it was oh so good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
db3250 May 29, 2009

I expected this soup to taste like a basic hamburger soup recipe that everyone learns to make in junior high home-ec & DH said he'd try it but it sounded gross (Lasagna "soup"). Well, this recipe blew our socks off! It was super easy to prepare with all on-hand ingredients, the house smelled like I had a lasagna in the oven & it actually tasted like a real homemade lasagna. (I do not & have never in my life eaten anything from Chef-Boyardee because I can't even stand the smell of those products & contrary to one reviewer's opinion I thought this beared no resemblance to that type of canned food.) I made as directed this time & will probably throw in some fresh onion next time but using a can of diced tomatoes with basil, onion & garlic plus the called for seasonings was just perfect. DH & DS went crazy for this & have asked for it again. It's the first meal in months that we haven't had leftovers of. And neither of them are big soup eaters. This was fabulous for quick, easy & flavorful. This will be our new go-to soup recipe. Thanks for sharing, Fauve! Made for Photo Forum's January 2009 Belly Warmers tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** January 06, 2009

Sorry, I just don't get it. Made this for a quick family meal last week and at best it tasted like a very bad version of Chef Boy R Dee. Wish I could say better, but it didn't work for my family.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~Gold Medal Flower~*~ April 13, 2004

This is a life saver, in that the ingredients are always in my kitchen and that it takes no time to make. I also added chopped onion to the hamberger while browning. I would make it again in a pinch. Thank you for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Salesgirl March 12, 2004

Thank you for posting this recipe. My boyfriend and I enjoyed this soup along whole grain bread tonight. We used whole grain corckscrew pasta, chopped fresh onion cooked with the beef, Italian seasoned chopped tomatoes, and fresh chopped garlic. We didn't think it tasted like lasagna, but it was tasty and a good, hearty Italian-inspired dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel January 28, 2013

Soup was good but kind of blah. I added some Adobo, and a can of tomato soup, and then it tasted very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tedwards59 December 28, 2011

this will be the second time making this!! tastes amazing thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherryontop July 05, 2010

Very Yummy, I had leftover meatloaf already seasoned and I needed to get rid of some garden tomatos. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sproutie69 September 25, 2009
Quick, Quick, Quick Lasagna Soup