10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow this was a great ragu sauce...I added a little shredded carrots to it to sweeten it up some..
you would never know if was healthy for you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc June 07, 2011

5 Stars for flavor! This sauce is truly delicious. It's very hearty with great ingredients that we love. The recipe did not state to cook covered or not, so we covered it and wound up having to add a bit of tomato paste to thicken it up before serving. We felt the intro mentioning 'Halloween' did not follow any reasoning as it's not a dish specifically designed to that holiday. Overall, although we had to add tomato paste to thicken up the sauce, the flavor is wonderful. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 18, 2008

We loved this ragu! We chopped the veggies finely, omitted the sugar, and doubled the pasta and basil. It was great with turkey, but I am sure you could use other meats as well. I was worried about putting the ground meat in raw, but it broke up easily upon stirring, and worked just fine. I used a Malbec in this -- which I will increase next time. Very easy with a great method and a great taste - I definitely recommend trying this bolognese!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 10, 2008

Congratulations on winning the Craze-E Crockpot Contest! Pureeing the Rotel (a contest ingredient) was a great idea and made this a zippy interesting sauce. Since the contest is over, I omitted the celery and instead of penne used tofu shirataki spaghetti which has virtually no fat and calories, and very few carbs. I used Pinot Noir and could taste it in this delicious meaty sauce...so easy to make in the crockpot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen November 06, 2008

My favorite so far. This uses many ingredients I use in my everyday cooking, easy to prepare and the flavors were excellent. Nice use of contest ingredients. Using the bacon and Rotel in this type dish was a new twist for me, and we enjoed it. I did use the optional red wine, as I like it when I cook as well. my family enjoyed this dish - it will be made again. Made for first Category Craze-E Contest 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva November 04, 2008

This is a nice 'everyday' type recipe that could be used in many pasta dishes. Would make a terrific lasagna! Would be terrific to freeze in portions for later use. Very easy to put together and quite tasty. Made for Category Craze-E Contest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 November 03, 2008

his was a good use of contest ingredients. The bacon added nice smokey flavor without added fat. I did make a couple of adjustments. Because of the quantity of herbs called for, I assume that fresh was intended. I used a dried herb blend and the quantity was reduced considerably. The recipe was reduced by half and probably 10 oz of ground turkey was used. The butter was left out, the cheese and fresh basil were used to top the individual servings. A very nice sauce with a touch of a kick. Good luck in Craze-E Contest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 03, 2008

Zipped all in a blender, celery, bell pepper, mushrooms, etc.. bc dh will not eat it if he can see the 'chunks'. SSShhhhh do not tell him he secretly eats it and LIKES it! lol Liked the hint of sweet from brown sugar and the hit of heat from the pepper flakes. That is a combo I use in my homemade sauce. Added the red wine, Pinot Noir which has a peppery note, as red wine is a staple in my sauce as well. I prefer to add the wine at the end of cooking though so more of the flavor remains.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 03, 2008

We loved this! It was my favorite of all the contest recipes I tried. The flavor was great. The sauce turned out nice and thick just like the introduction stated. The Rotel tomatoes gave it a nice little kick that we're not used to having in our spaghetti sauce but we enjoyed it! I love the name of the recipe, too. Great job!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 November 03, 2008
Ragu Raving over Penne