11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I served this over angel hair!! Yummy! I used roasted garlic! Also used 1/4 cup each olive oil and butter! Just because I like the mix. Very easy to make and quick. My mouth sure does taste good!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ March 15, 2005

Love these shrimps!!I used large Black tiger Shrimp.I melted the butter in casserole dish in the oven,used my garlic press for the garlic-instead of mincing(I'm lazy)Served shrimps over angel hair pasta. Very easy,very tasty--will use this recipe many times.Thanks Barb for sharing:0)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 920429 April 15, 2003

very easy to make excellent beats red lobster by far my be same recipe

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zip zimmerman March 09, 2003

A staple at our house! And I don't normally eat shrimp...! Now if only they sold them already peeled :) Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mootwo January 03, 2012

cant believe i forgot to review this,,, its fast and easy and tastes great,, the shrimp come out tender and i always add a little more garlic and a pinch of red pepper flakes, just for alittle spice,,,, dh loves this and im making it again tonite,,,its great with chicken too,,,,,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troublejul September 07, 2011

Gosh, this seemed like it would be so wonderful, and I did like the preparation method a lot. But there was so much liquid. I cut the butter back to 5 T., but used the same amount of wine. I used leftover Italian bread for the topping, but that was lost (and unappetizingly soggy) in the sea of liquid. My kids (age 8 and 17) complained that it was "winey" and "garlicky," which is often a good thing but in this case rather bitter. (I used a nice drinkable chardonnay.) We shaved some fresh Parmesan over the top which greatly improved things. Sorry this is a lukewarm review but I strive to be honest. I typically love Barb's recipes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr July 02, 2009

Barb, this is a great dish! I had to use cooking wine (3/4 cup) which reduced a little bit of the flavor. I also sprinkled some red pepper flakes over the top. It was really great even with using "fake wine." My husband really liked it. Oh, I did use precooked shrimp that was peeled and deveined. We served over linguine tossed with a bit of olive oil and parmasan cheese. This would be an impressive company dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Mommy October 07, 2007

So easy and quick to make! I will continue to use this process for shrimp scampi. Unfortunately, I used unsalted butter and it could have been a bit more flavorful. Think I will add some lemon juice at the end next time, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
really_lala December 27, 2005

I made this last night for dinner,I added some olive oil to the recipe and it was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Bulik July 07, 2004

Really liked this recipe - the flavor is all there, and it is EZ and quick, with standard ingredients which we have on hand all the time. In the past, I've always sauted shrimp scampi & rushed to get it on the table still hot. This recipe allows you to get it all on the table hot with ease -- & since it's in the hot baking dish, it can be covered and kept warm for seconds. Mahalo nui loa (thanks alot) -- it was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kauaian cook January 30, 2004
Shrimp Scampi