Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Slow Cooked Crock Pot Roman Lamb Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Slow Cooked Crock Pot Roman Lamb

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2011

      This lamb smelled amazing while cooking! It made both my husband and I remark "why don't we have lamb more often??" The answer to that question is the cost - I could only get lamb stew meat at my local market and it was almost $10/lb. But it was worth it as this dish was delicous! I halved the recipe as it was only two of us. I am making shepherd's pie with the leftovers tonight! Based on other reviews I used only most of a 2 oz can of anchovies but I will use all two oz next time. Halved everything else. I served with steamed potatoes, green beans, salad and a crusty loaf. Thanks French Tart! I can't wait to serve this dish to guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      I had messaged French Tart about clarification with lamb quantities. With her feedback and instructions my SO and I proceeded to make this! We used 3 lbs of lamb, from the leg, cut into approximately 3 inch chunks. Kept the ratios of everything else the same and didn't change anything else. <br/><br/>This smelled wonderful cooking over night. The most "difficult" part is searing the lamb bits in the pan as it is a bit time consuming. I think you could skip this step but it adds a little bit of texture and flavor if you do the searing. This is an intensely flavored meal, with tender, falling apart lamb. This is perfect served over plain white rice and with a crisp side salad. I am echoing other reviews and think the anchovies (although I LOVE anchovies) could be scaled back a teeny bit. Regardless, this recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      I am so glad I tried this, as it is the first recipe for lamb that I found that It comes out meltingly, mouthwateringly tender...The only reason It did not get 5 stars is that the anchovies seemed to overwelm the lamb. (I halved the recipie and only put in a 2ounce can, but it was still very overwelming, and I love anchovies!!)..Next time, and there will DEFINATLY be a next time, I will probably omit the anchovies and add a sliced up lemon instead....Thanks for a whole new way to cook lamb...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      According to America's Test Kitchen (and my own testing), pre-cooking the meat does not seal in any juices...so I skipped that step and simply threw it all in a slow cooker. I made a half sized recipe, and as noted by many I reduced the anchovies to 1oz. This is probably the best lamb I have ever had. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Delicious as usual. I only had anchovy paste on hand, but it seemed to work! Wasn't crazy about the smell while it was cooking, but it tasted so good. DH has already requested this dish for our next dinner party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      I hope this post goes thru - really enjoyed it. thx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Wonderful flavours and I found the amount of cooking liquid was just perfect to make it wonderfully moist and tender while keeping the lamb pieces together. I halved the recipe and also thought the amount of anchovies might have been a bit much, so used a quarter the quantity of those and thought it was spot on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      We really enjoyed this fork tender melt in your mouth leg of lamb. I reduced the anchovies though because hubby is not fond of it. Will try it with the kidney sometime. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Slow Cooked Crock Pot Roman Lamb

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.0
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    85%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 36.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 607.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    leg of lamb

    fresh rosemary

    lambs kidneys

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites