Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Smashed Red Potatoes With Parmesan Basil Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smashed Red Potatoes With Parmesan Basil Butter

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2013

      Delicious!! What a great way to fix potatoes ahead of time!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      Good potatoes! I like that they are baked and not boiled, gives them that fluffy texture you get with baked potatoes. The basil gives it a nice fresh taste and the amount of butter and parmesan cheese was perfect. Made for Zaar Stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      Wonderful potatoes. Not as creamy as some mashed, but with loads of flavor. Excellent with Pan Fried Steak with Sauce and sliced tomatoes with blue cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      These are great potatoes!! I used yukon golds, since that's what I had on hand, and black truffle butter in place of regular butter. I thought that the amount of basil might be overwhelming, but it really went well in the dish. Plus, this recipe is so easy to put together, it would be perfect for a dinner party. DH gave these potatoes an enthusiastic two thumbs up, so they'll be a regular in our house in the future.

      Thanks, Sharon, for a super recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      We loved these potatoes! I did use a bit more butter and parmesan cheese, minced garlic, and kosher salt. The basil adds a nice fresh flavor and the parmesan cheese a little kick. Nice side dish to serve for company too. Will make these again Sharon....thank you for sharing hon! Made and reviewed for Kittencals's Chef's Pick Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I made these quite a while ago but somehow forgot to rate them I am giving this recipe what it deserves 5 stars all the way, I love the addition of the fresh chopped basil and garlic, thank you for posting Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      These potatoes went perfectly with leftover Kittencal's Beef Pot Roast #2 for Hot Beef Sandwiches. Delicious! Thank you Sharon! I will be making these potatoes again! Made for KK's Chef's Pick Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Very yummy! I made this as directed but with about 18 small potatoes. Easy and oh so good! We had this with pork tenderloin and corn. I really liked the fresh basil in this. Made for Kittencal's Chef's Pick tag. Thanks Sharon! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      These were sooo good! My little family loved the potatoes made this way. Thanks, Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Ohhhhh darn it anyway, I want to give this recipe at least 10 stars! I made this with the last of the red potatoes harvested from my garden, I didn't have any fresh basil so used 1 TBLS dried basil instead, otherwise made exactly per the recipe. These are so doggone good, and they barely made it to the table before they were gone. This from a household that would rather eat pasta or rice, quite the compliment. Will make these often and am saving it to my Sides Cookbook. Made for KK's Chefs Pick Event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Was wary about the roasting method at first for some reason, but it added a depth that boiled smashed potatoes just don't have! Yummy. Yummy. I also added a tablespoon of sour cream and served with sour cream on the side as well, which everyone liked. Thanks for this wonderfully different recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I didn't have the fresh basil, so I made these without it. They were delicious and DS asked me to make them again just like the first batch. One of these days I want to try it with the basil! Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Used a whole bag of baby red potatoes for this one, (which I think was 2 lbs.???) Didn't change anything else though, and they came out perfectly! This is my new mashed potato recipe, that's for sure! Can't wait to try it out on guests. Thanks Sharon123 for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! I had the first pinchings from my basil crop to use. Mmmmm. The only thing I'll do differently next time will be to double the parmensan. This made a great side for a family meal, but I wouldn't hestitate to put it in front of even the most special guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      YUMMMMM .... these are absolutely delicious!! If there were 6 stars, I'd rate it that! Simple to make but taste gourmet, like you've spent a long time in the kitchen. I'm not a huge garlic fan, so I cut down on the amount a bit, but still awesome!! Thanks for a keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2007

      Sharon, these potatoes are wonderful! So easy to do in the oven. The roasting of the red potatoes seems to give this recipes lots of added flavor! I will enjoy preparing this again! Thanks, Sharon : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      A wonderful change from regular and garlic smashed potatos. This is a rich but fresh tasting dish. The basil and parmesan added both fresh and sharp flavor notes. Everyone liked this so much that this is going to be the 'new' comfort dish around here. A 'keeper' recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smashed Red Potatoes With Parmesan Basil Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (686 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 760.2
     
    Calories from Fat 316
    41%
    Total Fat 35.1 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 64.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 176.1 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 102.5 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 10.9 g
    43%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 13.9 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes