11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Prepared as stated but I finish mine by baking in the oven and it comes out great every time. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curlee January 03, 2012

Good stuff Boneman! Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TJW February 04, 2008

Awesome flavor! We used thighs and legs (skin/bone on) and it turned out great. Next time I will cut back on the olive oil, as there was waaaay too much while browning the chicken, but otherwise, a very solid recipe! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
velorutionista October 15, 2007

Yum! This was the first time I had chicken cacciatore and it was delicious and easy too. I used 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts because thats what I had (I might use thighs next time), I used Burgundy wine, subbed fresh thyme for the dried oregano, and served it with the suggested spaghetti. I think next time I might try adding everything to the crockpot after browning, or even baking it in a casserole dish. Thanks Bone Man, this was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tee Lee September 07, 2007

A very, very delightful dish!!! Since there are just the two of us, I used only 4 chicken breasts. I did use the chicken stock mentioned towards the end of the instructions. I probably could have omitted that -- or cut it down to just a fourth of a cup. We had plenty of "sauce" -- but I would rather have too much than not enough. I served it with rice -- but next time I'll do the pasta. The chicken was so, so tender and the sauce had such a great flavor. I would recommend using the bell pepper -- it compliments all the other seasonings. I'm looking forward to making this when our daugher and her family come to visit in a few weeks -- I'll be sure and add some drumsticks for the kids. I would encourage others to give this recipe a try. It's easy to put together -- and then just sit back and let the aromas fill the air while it simmers away. You'll be more than ready to dig in when it's time to eat!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie May 17, 2007

This lovely recipe is just great, each mouthful is just full of flavor.... and so easy to prepare.... I will definately be making it again. thanks for sharing with us

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook May 17, 2007

This is an excellent cacciatore with an outstanding flavor! I doubled the recipe as I wanted some to freeze for our upcoming RV trip and used about 1/2 teaspoon of red chili flakes instead of the red pepper and served it over the refrigerated "fresh" linguini for a very yummy dinner last night. A crisp salad and some crusty bread to dunk in the sauce completed our meal. Thanks for posting this- it's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas May 16, 2007

An easy and tasty meal. I "lighten up the recipe" and used 8 large thighs (without skin), only about 2 tsp. olive oil and skipped the salt. Made in my cast iron frying pan, simmered 45 minutes with the lid and final 15 minutes without the lid. Served with linguine - everyone was too busy eating to give a rating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen October 28, 2013

A very good, well balanced cacciatore! I made a couple of minor changes... I sauteed the garlic and mushrooms when the onions were at the half way point and used my own canned tomatoes. I added a Bayleaf and half of the basil in dried form at the beginning of the cooking process and a tbsp or so of fresh basil a few minutes before serving. I did add about 1 cup of chicken broth as we like things saucy. It was a perfect meal for a chilly fall night. I'm looking forward to having this in my freezer - I made the full recipe despite there only being two of us. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned October 25, 2013

Delicious! My first experience with chicken cacciatore but definitely not the last one. The chicken came out so flavorful! I used thighs and drumsticks. They were rather fatty so I used less olive oil. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpmazur April 09, 2013
The Ospidillo Cafe Chicken Cacciatore