8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Like the last reviewer said, these are absolutley fabuous for a sunny lunch outside. They are easy to make and don't keep you slaving in the kitchen. They have a great taste and are a must try.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LikeItLoveIt November 20, 2001

I sure never ate these in Naples but they were good for sunny afternoons in Massachusetts too.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moishe Lettvin (1) October 08, 2001

Simply delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autsayder January 10, 2010

Simply wonderful!!!! I have always had mayonnaise on my tomato sandwich probably because it is a spin-off from the BLT. This tomato sandwich is so fresh, light, and you can really taste the tomato and the herbs!! I traveled to the German side for my bread because I already had some pumpernickel and I used not only fresh basil but fresh oregano and a little fresh thyme also. Loved the garlic too, I had never had that either on a tomato sandwich!! Served with Roasted Zucchini cut into shapes like "fries" on the side. Loved this, will definitely make again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee April 16, 2009

I love these sandwiches and eat them (or some variance) just about every week! Sometimes I sprinkle with balsamic vinegar, sometimes I toast them, sometimes add fresh mozzarella - any way delicious! A must try for tomatoe lovers! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta December 19, 2007

I loved these when I lived in Bella Napoli--I did cheat when making them tonight--I added Pesto and some fresh mozzarella. Still pretty amazing! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaGrl July 10, 2007

It was really fresh and light...absolutley perfect for a hot summer day! I added some fresh mozzarella cheese and some black olives, and some slices of onion the second time I made it, and it was even more spectacular! Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurninWater June 03, 2007

This simple sandwich has became a summertime favorite for us. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama November 28, 2006
Tomato Sandwich from Italy