Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / Tortellini With a Tomato-Basil Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tortellini With a Tomato-Basil Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2013

      I didn't have bouillon cubes so I used chicken stock and had to add some salt and garlic salt. Because of using chicken stock instead of a dry little cube, I ended up with a very fluid sauce, but it still tasted very good. Everyone who ate it loved it. My triplets were to picky to try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      Yummy yummy yummy! Worth every darn calorie....marvelous sauce.
      I used fresh basil instead of dried but otherwise followed the recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Just got done with our feast! I would give it 5 stars but I didn't do a good job on this dish or maybe I'm too critical. I recently got into cooking so this was my first time making a cream sauce. I didn't let it boil enough before I added everything, so I decided to let it stand for a bit to thicken up. This made the tortellini and asparagus that I added to it slightly mushy. However, my only food critics were (2) 12 yr old boys. They are very picky eaters and they immediately asked questions about why it was pink "it's the tomatos" and what is the green "it's your vegetables now eat!" Success! They loved it and they even went back for seconds which they NEVER do. I even received a comment "Damn, this is like Olive Garden!" Granted they may not be food experts but that was a breakthrough! On top of that they asked if they could have it for lunch tomorrow, which I advised wouldn't be smart since there is cream and it won't keep cold in their lunch box. I'm looking forward to making this again, the right way. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This was delicious! We didn't have tortellini so we served the sauce over fettucine. The sauce is what makes this a stand out; very creamy and just the right tang from the tomatoes. Try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Oh my goodness, this is my new favorite pasta! If I could rate this higher I would. My hubby and I just loved it. (Plus, it was easy enough for him to make for me to celebrate my birthday!) We changed a few things. We used bowties and half and half instead of cream. We also added some grilled chicken slices to it to make it even more yummy. (I think I might throw in some mushrooms next time.)I would recommend this to anyone who loves pasta as much as we do. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Helllooo this was so good. I made the sauce with bowtie pasta and shrimp, since I had no tortellini. HELLOOO this was good! I added some chicken broth before adding the cream to make sure it wasn't too thick. I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Oooohhh yum yum yum!!! This was a delicious dinner! I had to use cheese ravioli instead of tortellini, because the store was out of tortellini! Oh well, the sauce is the thing here. This is a rich, comfort-food kind of sauce, the kind you want to mop up with a piece of bread. Delicious flavor combination. I used fresh tomatoes from the garden instead of canned, and used half-n-half instead of heavy cream -- and it was plenty rich, believe me! Delicious! Thanks, Cooks 4_6! Made for 1.2.3. Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      We really enjoyed this, quick,easy, and tasty. We'll be making this gain thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Delicious and easy! I just loved the cream sauce in this. It's so flavorful. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tortellini With a Tomato-Basil Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (379 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1024.9
     
    Calories from Fat 634
    61%
    Total Fat 70.4 g
    108%
    Saturated Fat 35.8 g
    179%
    Cholesterol 229.9 mg
    76%
    Sodium 1289.1 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.1 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes