Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Italian / World's Best Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    World's Best Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2012

      This was really lovely. I have made this the original way before but I am watching my calories so I skipped the beef, added spinach to the cheese mix (about 2 cups fresh, chopped) and 1.5 cups sliced zucchini on the first layer of cheese. I also used no boil noodles, so it was all done after 55 minutes. Just needed to cool. Big hit with the friends I just had over. Holds together nicely and the sauce on the bottom makes clean up super easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2014

      This is basically the same recipe I've been using for 30+ years. Somewhere all those years ago there was a magazine article or one of the syndicated newspaper recipe columns that encouraged us NOT to cook the lasagna noodles, oh my, but that certainly made making lasagna easier! :) The only thing I do differently, other than my recipe is double this one, with my own (home made) is I mix in about a cup of cheddar cheese with the eggs, cottage cheese and parm instead of the mozerella. I then use mozerella and provolone between the layers, it's a lot cheesier and it adds another depth of flavor that we really like, and nope, not Italian, but I don't have to be to know what tastes good to me! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      never ever put cottage cheese in lasagna or any other Italian dish, you must use Ricotta if you want the true Italian flavor.............

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Great recipe ! made some changes out of necessity. I added 3 cans of chopped tomatoes Italian Style, drained and put one can in a blender with a can of Cream Of Mushroom Soup instead of jar spaghetti sauce. Didn't know what to expect but everybody loved it as it brought out the flavor of the spices unlike any sauce I have ever tried. Using a fresh jar of Italian spices really helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      If my grandmother could read this recipe, she would be rolling over in her grave. I am 64 years old and I have never had spaghetti sauce from a jar. And, cottage cheese in lasagna?? I agree with the person who suggests negative stars. Only people who aren't Italian would like this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      I agree with the woman that wished for negative stars. no comparison to homemade sauce. ricotta not cottage cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      if I could give it negative stars I would.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Delicious! Easy too! This recipe is super easy and it is the best lasagna. I used a little extra sauce since I was afraid that the noodles wouldnt be soft enough. Came out great. Thanks Chef 1009338

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2014

      It's too bad this is listed under Italian Food. I'm Polish and have been making lasagna this way for years. Except I make my own sauce, putting anything with tomatoes into the sauce and any dairy into the cheese filling. Bits and pieces of any left over cheeses, some new stuff, sour cream, cream cheese, cottage cheese, parmesan cheese, eggs and parsley. My sauce fills the better part of a 5 quart kettle. Then I start filling all my square casserole dishes and a few cake pans to put in the freezer. Not quite as good as freshly made, but so handy to throw in the oven while you unload the car after a big shopping trip and put stuff away. By the time you've 'taken care of business' and get everything put away and set the table, you have just enough time to make a salad and prepare some cheesy garlic bread (we were farmers so use LOTS of dairy products). I also make lots of pies.....apple and cherry being our favorite, freeze them and throw one of those in the oven with the lasagna. It's also very handy to have this in the freezer when you get unexpected company. Excuse yourself for a few minutes, raid the freezer, throw them in the oven and by the time the delicious aromas permeate the air, it's too late for your company to say they can't stay. Even people that are normally very picky about their lasagna are crazy about this and ask for seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      What a great recipe! It tasted like what my Mom used to make. I made it a second time for company but I added ricotta cheese to the sauce (50/50) and that really ramped up the taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2014

      No Ricotta & jar Sauce! By far not the best lasagna recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2014

      This recipe reminds me of my Irish Mother-in-laws recipe for lasagna...only she made her sauce from scratch using a can of V-8........need I say more? If you want Italian, cook Italian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      My go to recipe for lasagna from now on. My entire family loves it. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

    • on January 12, 2013

      I love this recipe. I have been making this for years and never thought to put it in. thanks this is the only way to make lasagna and not pass out doing it. super easy and delicious:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      This was ABSOLUTELY delicious -- and so easy to make. Thank you for sharing -- I hope to cook it for my family for many years to come!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for World's Best Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (245 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 615.1
     
    Calories from Fat 264
    43%
    Total Fat 29.4 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 163.7 mg
    54%
    Sodium 1029.2 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 41.8 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes