15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great family meal. Easy to make and everyone loved it. Omitted the sugar, and divided the dish in half, making an 11x7 pan for dinner immediately, and freezing the rest in a deep-dish 9-inch foil pan for later. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 17, 2010

This is so much easier than lasagna and just as delicious. Serve with garlic bread and a tossed green salad (don't forget the feta cheese and Italian olives) and you have a great meal for a crowd. How about some Spumoni ice cream for dessert? I love Italian dishes like this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LePlum June 12, 2007

Very good except I have to ask if it wasn't a typo calling for that much sugar . . .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tytruck16 March 29, 2015

Help,, can anyone tell me if this recipe needs 26 ounces of spaghetti sauce,, or does it need 39?? 1.5 of a 26 ounce can of sauce would be 39 ounces. Or,, is it just requiring 26 ounces?? I'm really not the type of person that gets annoyed too easily, but listing the ingredients in such a way (where it can be interpreted differently) does drive me crazy. <br/><br/>than you for your help

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lvlglass June 29, 2014

Well this was a huge winner in my house!!! My DS and his girlfriend have a college class at 11 am and then another at 5:15 and don't get home till 7:30-7:45 pm and they both had seconds. They both want me to make it again!! I did change things up, as I don't like the jarred sauce, so made my own with our amounts for seasoning, but followed the rest of the recipe as stated with the cottage cheese and sour cream (new to me) but we loved it!! Thanks again and made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game, one I am for sure to make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 October 01, 2010

This is one of my favorite go to recipes for comfort food. I do tweak it just a little though. I leave out the sugar and spices completely except the garlic and onion. I find that if I buy my favorite jarred sauce I really don't need anything extra. Beyond that I leave it as is and love it every time. This is also my favorite dish to freeze and give because it thaws and cooks so well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
budgetmommy March 05, 2009

This was quite good and very easy. I used homemade sauce and ground beef instead of sausage. It went together very easy and there weren't any leftovers! I also omitted the sugar. I think next time I would add mozzarella and parmesan to the each layer, I like it cheesy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot June 04, 2008

This is a tasty baked ziti recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. I used the high end of sugar and it was just right for us as we like sweet sauce. The seasonings are right on. You could also substitute ground beef in this recipe and it would also taste wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 April 09, 2008

This was really creamy and yummy. Loved the cheesiness of it as opposed to the typical tomato-based ziti w/out the creaminess. I used 1/8 c. of sugar and still thought it was a little too sweet. Next time I'll just use a Tbl or so. Very good. Thank you! My son is 17 months and he loved it too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KadesMom January 23, 2008

This is a good casserole. My family all liked it. I followed the recipe exactly. Made for Market Tag07

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn November 11, 2007
Zippity-Do-Dah Baked Ziti